Uploaded Ad
article image
Courtesy: Duke Photography
Nine Blue Devils Selected for National Championship
Courtesy: Duke Sports Information
Release: 05/17/2013
BDN+ Premium Content
Related Links

COLORADO SPRINGS, Co. – Nine Blue Devils have been selected to participate in the 2013 USA Field Hockey Women’s National Championship tournament, as announced by USA Field Hockey Thursday afternoon.  The tournament is scheduled to take place May 23-29 in Norfolk, Va., and will include 108 athletes on six teams vying for the team title and, more importantly, individual spots on the United States National Team. 

“The Women’s National Championship is the first opportunity for me to see all of the players in one place and that is really quite exciting,” said USA Women’s National Team Head Coach Craig Parnham. “It is very important for me to have a good look at every player at the tournament.”

Twenty-four women will be selected to the National Team from the tournament, which will be announced via email to each participant a few days after the conclusion of the competition.  The developmental squad will also be selected at this time.

There is at least one Duke representative on five of the six teams competing in the tournament.  2012 Duke graduate Stefanie Fee and rising senior Paula Heimbach will play on the Pennsylvania team, rising senior Grace Christus will participate on the Mid-Atlantic/South Team, Hannah Barreca is a member of the New Jersey Team, 2012 Duke graduate Rhian Jones and rising junior Abby Beltrani will participate on the New England/North Team and rising redshirt sophomore Lauren Blazing, rising sophomore Aileen Johnson and incoming freshman Heather Morris will compete for the U21 Team. 

For a complete list of participants and more information, click here.