Uploaded Ad
article image
Courtesy: Duke Sports Information
Grant Hill & Christian Laettner
Hill & Laettner Named NCAA's All-Time March Madness Players
Courtesy: Duke Sports Information
Release: 04/05/2013
BDN+ Premium Content
Related Links

DURHAM, N.C. – Former Duke standouts Grant Hill and Christian Laettner, both members of Duke’s 1991 and 1992 NCAA Championship teams, were named to the NCAA’s list of All-Time March Madness Players, as announced Friday. Additionally, Laettner’s buzzer-beating shot against Kentucky in the 1992 East Regional Final – a shot that was set up by a cross-court pass from Hill – was named the NCAA’s All-Time March Madness Moment.

Hill and Laettner will be forever linked by the play that came to be known as “The Shot,” but the two found plenty of other success in the NCAA Tournament during their four years at Duke. They were two of the 15 selections on the NCAA’s All-Time March Madness Players list, making Duke one of only two programs with multiple players on the list. UCLA, with Kareem Abdul-Jabbar and Bill Walton, was the only other school with multiple selections.

Hill, a 6-8 forward from Reston, Va., helped Duke capture national titles in his first two seasons and led the Blue Devils back to the NCAA Championship game in 1994 where Duke lost, 76-72, to Arkansas. In 20 career NCAA Tournament games, Hill averaged 13.5 points, 6.7 rebounds, 1.2 blocks, 2.0 steals and 4.3 assists. His 39 NCAA Tournament steals rank as the most in Duke history.

Laettner, a 6-11 forward from Angola, N.Y., played in the most NCAA Tournament games in NCAA history, appearing in – and starting– 23 out of a possible maximum 24 games. He led Duke to four consecutive Final Fours and three straight national title games, averaging 16.6 points, 7.8 rebounds, 1.0 blocks, 1.6 steals and 1.8 assists per game in the tournament while shooting 57.4 percent from the field and 48.5 percent from three-point range. In NCAA Tournament play, he remains the NCAA’s all-time leader in points (407) and free throws made (142) and attempted (167) and ranks tied for third in field goals made (128). He is also Duke’s all-time NCAA Tournament leader with 169 rebounds.

Duke is the NCAA all-time leading program in winning percentage (99-32, .756) and has the longest active NCAA Tournament streak with 18 consecutive appearances. Duke ranks third in NCAA Tournament wins, NCAA Final Four Appearances and championship games appearances, while head coach Mike Krzyzewski is the NCAA all-time winningest coach in NCAA Tournament play with 82 wins in his NCAA-record 107 games. With 29 total NCAA Tournament appearances, Krzyzewski is second to only Syracuse’s Jim Boeheim (30) in that category.