Stay Connected with Duke Athletics
Uploaded Ad
Uploaded Ad
Uploaded Ad
article image
Courtesy: Duke Athletics
Jack Wohlabaugh
Wohlabaugh Named to Rimington Award Watch List
Courtesy: Duke Sports Information
Release: 07/19/2019
BDN+ Premium Content
Related Links

DURHAM, N.C. – Duke redshirt junior Jack Wohlabaugh has been named to the Rimington Trophy Watch List. The award is given annually to the nation’s premier center by the Boomer Esiason Foundation.  

Wohlabaugh, a 6-4, 300-pound Akron, Ohio, product, is charted as the first team center after playing in all 13 games last fall with nine starts. He spent the 2016 and 2017 seasons as a member of the football program at Ohio State before transferring to the Blue Devils.

Last fall at Duke, Wohlabaugh was a member of an offensive front that helped Duke close the year as one of four ACC teams to compile 2,000 or more rushing yards and 3,100 or more passing yards, joining Clemson, Syracuse and Virginia Tech. He helped the Blue Devil offense produce 382 points, the fourth highest single-season total in program history.

Wohlabaugh provided pass protection for a Duke aerial attack that featured 31 touchdown passes, setting the program single-season record. During Duke’s game at Pittsburgh, he helped provide rushing lanes for Deon Jackson, who gained 162 yards on 10 carries (16.20) and became just the third player in ACC history to surpass 400 all-purpose yards in a game. Wohlabaugh also helped Duke to its third consecutive victory over North Carolina with a 42-35 triumph as Daniel Jones registered the second 300-yard passing (361), 100-yard rushing (186) performance of his career. In the 56-27 victory over Temple in the Walk-On’s Independence Bowl, Wohlabaugh, provided protection and opened lanes for Jones, the game’s Offensive MVP, to complete 30-of-41 (.732) passes for 423 yards and five TDs and rush for another score as Duke set or matched Independence Bowl team records for total TDs (8), points scored and passing yards (440).

Dave Rimington, the award's namesake, was a consensus first-team All-America center at the University of Nebraska in 1981 and 1982, during which time he became the John Outland Trophy's only two-time winner as the nation's finest college interior lineman. This season’s winner will be recognized at the Rimington Trophy Presentation at the Rococo Theatre in Lincoln, Nebraska on Saturday, January 18, 2020.

Duke season tickets are available online at or by calling the Duke Athletic Ticket Office at 919-681-2583.

Duke Players on 2019 NCFAA Watch Lists
Bednarik Award: Victor Dimukeje
Doak Walker Award: Brittain Brown and Deon Jackson
Mackey Award: Noah Gray
Rimington Trophy: Jack Wohlabaugh