Stay Connected with Duke Athletics
Uploaded Ad
Uploaded Ad
Uploaded Ad
article image
Courtesy: Duke Athletics
Brittain Brown (left) and Deon Jackson
Brown and Jackson Placed on Doak Walker Watch List
Courtesy: Duke Sports Information
Release: 07/17/2019
BDN+ Premium Content
Related Links

DURHAM, N.C. – Duke redshirt junior running back Brittain Brown and junior running back Deon Jackson have been named to the watch list for the Doak Walker Award, an honor presented annually to the nation’s top running back. It is the second consecutive selection to the Doak Walker Watch List for Brown and the first in Jackson’s career.

The award, which will announce its 30th recipient in 2019, is named for SMU’s three-time All-America running back Doak Walker. It is the only major collegiate award that requires all candidates to be in good academic standing and on schedule to graduate within one year of other students of the same classification.

Brown enters this season having played in 22 career games and rushing 210 times for 1,070 yards (5.10) and 10 touchdowns. He has added 15 receptions for 205 yards (13.67) and one TD and returned six kickoffs for 153 yards (25.50). 

A 6-1, 205-pound product of Canton, Ga., Brown enters the 2019 season tied for eighth in rushing touchdowns, ninth in rushing attempts, ninth in rushing yards, 13th in total TDs (11), 14th in all-purpose yards (1,428), 14th in all-purpose yards per game (64.91) and 14th in rushing yards per game (48.64) among active players in the ACC. In Duke bowl history, he ranks tied for fourth in career scoring (12) and 15th in career rushing yards (60). 

Jackson is a preseason All-ACC selection as an all-purpose back by Athlon Sports (1st team) and as a running back by Phil Steele’s College Football Preview (2nd team). In 25 career games, he has rushed 193 times for 944 yards (4.89) and seven TDs, caught 30 passes for 257 yards (8.57) and two scores and returned 25 kickoffs for 541 yards (21.64).

A 6-0, 220-pound Atlanta native, Jackson begins the fall with the 10th highest yards per carry average in Duke history. He rushed for 847 yards in 2018, the most for a back during the David Cutcliffe Era, and the 10th highest single-season total in program history.

The PwC SMU Athletic Forum Board of Directors will name ten semifinalists in November, and three finalists, as voted on by the Doak Walker Award National Selection Committee, will be announced on November 20. The committee will cast a second vote beginning December 2 to determine the recipient. The National Selection Committee consists of past recipients, former NFL All-Pro and college All-America running backs, media members and selected special representatives.

The recipient of the 2019 Doak Walker Award will be announced live on The Home Depot College Football Awards on Thursday, December 12 on ESPN.

Duke season tickets are available online at or by calling the Duke Athletic Ticket Office at 919-681-2583.

Duke Players on 2019 NCFAA Watch Lists
Bednarik Award: Victor Dimukeje
Doak Walker Award: Brittain Brown and Deon Jackson