Uploaded Ad
article image
Courtesy: Duke Athletics
Crutchfield, Jenner Named to Tewaaraton Watch List
Courtesy: Duke Sports Information
Release: 03/05/2018
BDN+ Premium Content
Related Links

DURHAM, N.C. – Senior midfielder Maddie Crutchfield and junior attacker Olivia Jenner have been named to the 2018 Tewaaraton Award watch list, as announced by the foundation Thursday evening in New York. The list highlights early contenders for the 2018 Tewaaraton Award.

Duke has featured at least two players on the Tewaaraton Award watch list each year since its inception in 2001. Former Blue Devil Katie Chrest received the prestigious honor following the 2005 season.

A Preseason All-ACC selection, Crutchfield ranks second on the Duke squad in goals (12) and draw controls (16) through six contests. She opened the season with a four-goal performance against No. 21 Elon and notched another four-goal outing in the ACC opener at No. 25 Virginia Tech. Crutchfield was one of three Blue Devils to post a hat trick in Sunday’s 21-13 defeat of Boston University, finishing with three goals, one assist, three ground balls and five draw controls.

Jenner enters the week leading the ACC and ranked third nationally in draw controls per game (9.17) after becoming Duke’s all-time career draw controls leader Sunday against Boston University. The Annapolis, Md., native owns 55 draw controls on the season and is also second on the team in assists (5) and third in goals (11). She has reached double digits in the draw controls category three times this spring, collecting 12 each against Campbell and Virginia Tech.

Players not named to the initial lists have several opportunities to play their way into a spot as the season progresses. Watch list additions, if applicable, will be announced on March 22 and April 5. On April 26, the field will be narrowed to 25 men’s and 25 women’s nominees. Nominees can be players on the watch lists or players not on the watch lists, effectively allowing for a third round of additions.

Five men’s and five women’s finalists will be announced on May 10 and invited to the 18th annual Tewaaraton Award Ceremony in Washington, D.C., on May 31.

Crutchfield, Jenner and the 21st-ranked Blue Devils return to action Saturday in a 12 p.m. matchup with Louisville at Koskinen Stadium.


Duke Football Vs NC Central
Sat, Sep 22 at 11:00 AM
Coach Cutcliffe Weekly Press
Tue, Sep 25 at 11:55 AM
Duke Football Vs Virginia Tech
Sat, Sep 29 at 11:00 AM
Coach Cutcliffe Weekly Press
Tue, Oct 9 at 11:55 AM