Stay Connected with Duke Athletics
Uploaded Ad
Uploaded Ad
article image
Courtesy: Duke Athletics
7 Blue Devils Earn All-ACC Academic Honors
Courtesy: Duke Sports Information
Release: 01/31/2019
BDN+ Premium Content
Related Links

DURHAM, N.C.—Seven Blue Devils have been selected for the 2018 Atlantic Coast Conference Men’s Soccer All-ACC Academic Team, released by the league office Thursday. Duke’s seven honorees are the most of any team in the league with the next most being five from Syracuse.

Sophomore goalkeeper Will Pulisic is Duke’s lone repeat recipient. He is joined by sophomore Matthias Frick, senior Ciaran McKenna, junior Daniele Proch, freshmen Issa Rayyan and Aedan Stanley and junior Brandon Williamson. Williamson and Frick also garnered Dean’s List honors this past fall, earning at least a 3.85 GPA.

Minimum academic requirements for selection to the All-ACC Academic Team are a 3.0 grade point average for the previous semester and a 3.0 cumulative average during one’s academic career. Athletic achievements during the most recent season are also considered in selecting the All-ACC Academic Team.

The ACC Honor Roll, which recognizes all conference student-athletes with a grade point average of 3.0 for the current academic year, will be released in July.

For more information on Duke women’s soccer, follow the Blue Devils on Twitter, Facebook, and Instagram by searching for “DukeMSoc”. You can also find all-access coverage of all Duke athletic programs on SnapChat by searching for “dukeathletics”.

2018 Men's Soccer All-ACC Academic Team

Simon Enstrom, Boston College, F, Sr., Communication and Economics

Charlie Asensio, Clemson, D, Fr., Sports Communication

Patrick Bunk-Andersen****, Clemson, D, Sr., Sports Communication

Tanner Dieterich, Clemson, D, Jr., Marketing

Mattias Frick, Duke, D, So., Undeclared

Ciaran McKenna, Duke, M, Sr., Political Science

Daniele Proch, Duke, M, Jr., History

Will Pulisic**, Duke, GK, So., Undeclared

Issa Rayyan, Duke, M, Fr., Undeclared

Aedan Stanley, Duke, D, Fr., Undeclared

Brandon Williamson, Duke, M, Jr., Sociology

Jake Gelnovatch, Louisville, GK, Jr., Sport Administration

Tate Schmitt***, Louisville, F, Sr., Marketing

Nils Bruening, North Carolina, F, Sr., Business Administration 

Alex Comsia****, North Carolina, D, Sr., Business Administration 

Simon Blotko***, NC State, D, Sr., Business Administration (Marketing Concentration); Psychology minor

Leon Krapf**, NC State, GK, So., Business Administration (Finance Concentration); Accounting minor

Patrick Berneski, Notre Dame, D, Gr., Environmental Engineering

Jack Casey**, Notre Dame, M, Jr., Economics, Political Science

Sean Dedrick, Notre Dame, D, Sr., Finance

Thomas Ueland, Notre Dame, F/M, Sr., Biological Sciences

Edward Kizza**, Pitt, F, So., Undecided

Javi Perez, Pitt, M, Sr., Media and Professional Communications

Chandler Vaughn, Pitt, D, Fr., Undecided

Tajon Buchanan, Syracuse, F, So., Health and Physical Education

Massimo Ferrin, Syracuse, F, Jr., Communication and Rhetorical Studies

Jonathan Hagman***, Syracuse, M, Sr., Finance

Hendrik Hilpert***, Syracuse, GK, Sr., Finance

Ryan Raposo, Syracuse, M, Fr., Sport & Human Dynamics-Undeclared

Robin Afamefuna, Virginia, M, Jr., Global Studies

Joe Bell**, Virginia, M, So., Undeclared

Colin Shutler, Virginia, GK, Jr., Psychology

Jon Ingason, Virginia Tech, D, Jr., Psychology

Will Mejia, Virginia Tech, D, So., Human Develop.

Brad Dunwell****, Wake Forest, M, Sr., Communications

Omir Fernandez**, Wake Forest, M, So., Undeclared

Alistair Johnston, Wake Forest, M, Jr., Economics

Aristotle Zarris, Wake Forest, M, Fr., Undeclared