Stay Connected with Duke Athletics
article image
Courtesy: Duke Athletics
Mitch Finesilver Garners Top Seed
Courtesy: Duke Sports Information
Release: 03/05/2019
BDN+ Premium Content
Related Links

DURHAM, N.C.—Duke redshirt senior Mitch Finesilver will headline the Blue Devils as the No. 1 seed at 149 pounds as they prepare for the 2019 ACC Wrestling Championships set for March 9 in Blacksburg, Va. Seeds were determined by a vote of the league’s six head coaches.


Action begins at 11 a.m. Saturday, with the Championship Finals set for 7 p.m. Tickets are priced at $10 for adults. Admission is free for youth 18 and under. ACC students are admitted free with a valid student ID.


To Purchase Tickets:  


Mitch Finesilver earns a first-round bye in the bracket and will wrestle the winner between Virginia Tech’s Ryan Blees and Virginia’s Michael Murphy. One win for the fourth-ranked Mitch Finesilver will earn him one of the four automatic bids to the NCAA Championships. A three-time ACC runner-up, Mitch is vying for the ACC title after going unbeaten in league action.


Matt Finesilver also earned a first-round bye as the No. 2 seed in the 174-pound bracket. He enters the ACC Championship with a 23-6 overall record with his lone loss in ACC action coming against top seed David McFadden of Virginia Tech. He will face the winner between NC State’s Daniel Bullard and Virginia’s Robert Patrick.


Both Josh and Zach Finesilver come in as No. 4 seeds at 141 and 165 pounds, respectively. Both weights have four automatic bids to the NCAA Championships. Zach Finesilver was the runner-up last season at 165 pounds and will face No. 5 seed Sawyer Davidson of North Carolina. He defeated Davidson by major decision 13-3 to close out the regular season.


Josh Finesilver will match up against Pitt’s LJ Bentley in the opening match. The sophomore edged Bentley 9-7 in the ACC regular season match.


At 184 pounds, Kaden Russell is the No. 5 seed as he looks to grab one of the five bids to NCAAs at the weight. His opening match will be a rematch with North Carolina’s Chip Ness, a 15-7 setback for Russell.


The full seedings and brackets for the 65th Annual ACC Wrestling Championship are listed below. Brackets for each weight class may be viewed at:


The doors to Cassell Coliseum will open at 10 a.m. on Saturday, with first-round action kicking off the event at 11 a.m. Semifinals are set for 1 p.m., followed by the consolation semifinals at 3:30 p.m. and the consolation finals at 5 p.m. Championship matches begin at 7 p.m., followed by the awards presentation.


ACC Network Extra again plans nearly 10 hours of live coverage from 11 a.m. through 9 p.m. Matches will be delivered on two concurrent live streams. Shawn Kenney and Tim Foley will handle the call on Mat 1, with Dean Linke and Rock Harrison manning Mat 2. The wealth of wrestling knowledge among the talent promises fans great insight into the competition.




125 Pounds 

1. Jack Mueller, Virginia

2. Sean Fausz, NC State

3. Joey Prata, Virginia Tech

4. Joel Heilmann, North Carolina

5. Brendon Fenton, Pitt

6. Harrison Campbell, Duke


133 Pounds

1. Micky Phillippi, Pitt

2. Tariq Wilson, NC State

3. Gary Wayne Harding, North Carolina

4. Korbin Myers, Virginia Tech

5. Louie Hayes, Virginia

6. Arien Leigh, Duke


141 Pounds

1. Jamel Morris, NC State

2. Mitch Moore, Virginia Tech

3. A.C. Headlee, North Carolina

4. Josh Finesilver, Duke

5. LJ Bentley, Pitt

6. Sam Krivus, Virginia


149 Pounds

1. Mitch Finesilver, Duke

2. Austin O’Connor, North Carolina

3. Justin Oliver, NC State

4. Ryan Blees, Virginia Tech

5. Michael Murphy, Virginia

6. Dallas Bulsak, Pitt


157 Pounds

1. Hayden Hidlay, NC State

2. Taleb Rahmani, Pitt

3. B.C. LaPrade, Virginia Tech

4. Josh McClure, North Carolina

5. Jake Keating, Virginia

6. Ben Anderson, Duke


165 Pounds

1. Mekhi Lewis, Virginia Tech

2. Cam Coy, Virginia

3. Thomas Bullard, NC State

4. Zach Finesilver, Duke

5. Sawyer Davidson, North Carolina

6. Tommy O’Brien, Pitt


174 Pounds

1. David McFadden, Virginia Tech

2. Matt Finesilver, Duke

3. Daniel Bullard, NC State

4. Devin Kane, North Carolina

5. Gregg Harvey, Pitt

6. Robert Patrick, Virginia


184 Pounds

1. Zack Zavatsky, Virginia Tech

2. Nino Bonaccorsi, Pitt

3. Nick Reenan, NC State

4. Chip Ness, North Carolina

5. Kaden Russell, Duke

6. Will Schany, Virginia


197 Pounds

1. Jay Aiello, Virginia

2. Tom Sleigh, Virginia Tech

3. Malik McDonald, NC State

4. Kellan Stout, Pitt

5. Alec Schenk, Duke

6. Brandon Whitman, North Carolina


285 Pounds

1. Cory Daniel, North Carolina

2. Demetrius Thomas, Pitt

3. Billy Miller, Virginia Tech

4. Tyler Love, Virginia

5. Deonte Wilson, NC State

6. Araad Fisher, Duke