Stay Connected with Duke Athletics
Uploaded Ad
Uploaded Ad
Uploaded Ad
Molly Lehman Senior Profile
Courtesy: Duke Sports Information
Release: 11/18/2008
article image
Molly Lehman
Photo Courtesy: Duke Photography
BDN+ Premium Content
Related Links

DURHAM, N.C. – recently sat down with Molly Lehman for her senior profile. Lehman is a member of the women’s cross country and track and field teams, an ECAC champion in the 1,000 meter and the 4x800m relay indoors. Her junior season, she was an All-Region selection with a sixth-place finish in the 1,500 at the NCAA East Regional championships, and on the cross country course she was Duke’s sixth finisher at the ACC. NCAA Southeast Regional, and NCAA Championship meets. Lehman discusses techno music, running with her younger sister, her favorite movie, plus much more. What is your nickname?
Molly Lehman:

GD: What do you have in your iPod before a meet?
A lot of techno.

GD: If you could change one rule in your sport, what would it be?
Maximum cross-country race distance would be a 3K, instead of a 6K like it is now.

GD: Who is your favorite professional player outside your sport?
Michael Phelps.

GD: What is your favorite movie?
Hotel Rwanda or Mean Girls, depending on my mood...

GD: What’s your favorite book?
Life of Pi.

GD: What’s your favorite TV show?
Sex and the City and Arrested Development. And The Office, in small doses.

GD: Who’s your favorite fictional character (from a TV show, growing up, etc.)?
Buffy the Vampire Slayer and her boyfriend, Angel.

GD: Who’s your favorite musical artist?
Britney Spears – through the good and the bad. I know some people sarcastically list her as their favorite, but she is my favorite for real.

GD: What’s your favorite food?
Raspberries and pumpkin bread.

GD: Do you have any pregame rituals?
Drinking a lot of coffee.

GD: Are you superstitious and if so, describe why?
I used to be in high school, but when I started running slow and falling in races my freshmen year I decided superstitions didn’t have anything to do with success. Except I still try to avoid the number 13 and make wishes at 11:11.

GD: What’s your best non-athletic talent?
I can almost do the splits.

GD: What would your dream job be?
Something that was based in Minneapolis (my home) and required travel 50% of the time to the Gulf Coast of Florida.

GD: Think one year down the road, what will you be doing?
I will be optimistic and working somewhere cool.

GD: Think 10 years down the road, what will you be doing?
Moving into the suburbs with some babies.

GD: Who’s had the most impact on your life and why?
My family - Mom, Dad, and two sisters. They are my biggest fans and biggest critics. Each one of them has helped make me who I am today.

GD: Who’s had the most impact on your athletic career and why?
My younger sister, Alice. We started running at the same time and were on the same team (and relay) for a couple of years. We grew to love it all together. She runs at University of Michigan now.

GD: What’s your favorite memory to date of your college career?
The second semester of my junior year. A lot of things were going well for me – it was the first time running was going really well since I’ve been at Duke, I was doing decent in school, and was having fun.

GD: What would the perfect end to your athletic career look like?
I want to make it to Outdoor Nationals in the spring. Running my best race there would be really great, but just being there is something I have wanted to do since high school.

GD: What’s your favorite part of practice and why?
Probably ice baths.

GD: What’s the thing you most admire about your coach and why?
Kevin [Jermyn] works so hard and is so committed to each of his athletes. I have learned more from him than I ever expected to. He is a great coach and also an excellent role model in how he handles difficult situations.

GD: Where is your secret spot to study?
Divinity school stacks.

GD: What’s your favorite sport, other than your own, to watch on TV?
Gymnastics and tennis.

GD: What is your advice to children?
Be an obedient teenager so that your parents trust you.

GD: What is your advice to this year’s freshmen on your team?
Don’t be afraid to screw up, but always learn from your mistakes, preferably sooner rather than later. Perfection is too stressful. I made plenty of bad choices over a pretty long period of time – try to speed up the learning curve and don’t waste your time. Four years is too short.

GD: What concert do you most want to attend that you never have?
Goo Goo Dolls.

GD: Why did you choose to attend Duke?
The academic/athletic balance is really unique and something I very much wanted to be a part of. The beautiful weather was also a very big plus.

GD: Where is your favorite place to play outside of Duke?
On the beach.

GD: What do you do in your free time?
Analyze the characters of Sex and the City and compare them to people I know.

MORE Women's Cross Country