Uploaded Ad
article image
Courtesy: Duke Athletics
2018 NCAA Semifinal team together again with their trophy.
Duke Caps Second Annual Blue Devil Cup
Courtesy: Duke Sports Information
Release: 10/06/2018
BDN+ Premium Content
Related Links

DURHAM, N.C. -- The second annual Blue Devil Cup wrapped up Saturday night, as the Duke men’s golf team welcomed alumni and supporters of the program back to campus for a two-day event.

Friday night’s festivities featured a casual welcome dinner at the Washington Duke Inn, followed by a three-hole glow golf shootout at the Duke Golf Club. Saturday morning, the golfers teed it up for real, as the alumni and friends were each paired with a current Duke golfer in threesomes for 18 holes on the Blue Devils’ home course.

The weekend concluded Saturday night with a dinner at the Delta Suite Level at Wallace Wade Stadium.

Former Blue Devil golfer Alex Matlari ’17 and volunteer assistant coach Jamie Gerhart teamed with senior Shrish Dwivedi to win Saturday’s Blue Devil Cup with an 11-under par 61 team score. The team birdied the 18th to finish with a two stroke victory.

The team of former Blue Devils Brad Clark ’03 and Brandon LaCroix ’02 and sophomore Evan Katz placed second at nine-under par 63. Recent alums Jake Shuman ’18 and Ben Silverman ’18, part of Duke’s squad that made the deep run to the NCAA Match Play semifinals last season, teamed with junior Steven DiLisio to finish third at eight-under.

At Saturday night’s dinner, the Blue Devils honored their 2017-18 team that finished as the NCAA National Semifinalist, and also its 2018 Academic All-Americans in Smalley, Shuman and Wood. Seniors Smalley and Dwivedi each addressed the gathering on what it means to be a Blue Devil.

Blue Devil Cup Final Results
Shrish Dwivedi/Alex Matlari ’17 /Jamie Gerhart (-11)
Evan Katz/Brandon LaCroix ’03/Brad Clark ‘02 (-9)
Steven DiLisio/Jake Shuman ‘18/Ben Silverman ‘18 (-8)
Qi wen Wong/Alex Merrill/Adam Wood ‘18 (-7)
Alex Smalley/Justin Klein ‘96/Joe Ogilvie ‘96 (-6)
Chandler Eaton/Paul Hindsley ‘81/John Karcher ‘90 (-6)
Harrison Taee/Nigel Taee/Jack Winters (-5)
Adrien Pendaries/Alan Birney ‘93/Tom Hurley ‘93 (-3)


Duke Men's Lacrosse Coaching Clinic
Wed, Oct 17 at 6:55 PM
Men's Basketball Countdown to
Fri, Oct 19 at 8:00 PM
Duke Football Vs Virginia
Sat, Oct 20 at 11:00 AM
Coach Cutcliffe Weekly Press
Tue, Oct 23 at 11:55 AM