Stay Connected with Duke Athletics
article image
Courtesy: Duke Athletics
Chandler Eaton, Alex Smalley
Eaton, Smalley on Hogan Award Watch List
Courtesy: Duke Sports Information
Release: 02/13/2019
BDN+ Premium Content
Related Links

DURHAM, N.C. -- Twenty-eight of the nation’s most accomplished collegiate golfers have been named to the 2019 Ben Hogan Award Watch List, including a pair of Duke men’s golfers junior Chandler Eaton and senior Alex Smalley.

The Ben Hogan Award presented by Konica Minolta Business Solutions U.S.A., Inc. (Konica Minolta) is given annually to the top men’s NCAA Division I, II or III, NAIA or NJCAA college golfer taking into account all collegiate and amateur competitions during a 12-month period from June to May.

The 2019 Ben Hogan Award Watch List, as determined by the award’s subcommittee, includes Eaton and Smalley, along with five others from the Atlantic Coast Conference. Smalley, a senior from Wake Forest, N.C., is the 20th-ranked world amateur in the latest rankings with Eaton, a junior from Alpharetta, Ga., ranked 78th. In the latest Golfweek men’s college golf individual rankings, Smalley is fourth and Eaton is sixth.

Duke is one of four schools with multiple selections to the Watch List, joining Oklahoma State (3), Georgia Tech (2) and Stanford (2).

This year’s list of 10 semifinalists, which could include individuals not on the watch list, will be unveiled on Wednesday, April 17. On Thursday, May 2, that group will be pared down to three finalists. The finalists will attend a black-tie dinner at Colonial Country Club in Fort Worth, Texas, on Monday, May 20, prior to the start of the PGA TOUR’s Charles Schwab Challenge, where the winner will be crowned.

The second-ranked Blue Devils open the spring portion of their schedule Feb. 21-23 at the John Burns Collegiate in Hawaii.

2019 Watch List candidates:
Zach Bauchou, Oklahoma State, Sr., Forest, Va.
Callum Bruce, Midland College, So., Banff, Scotland
Quade Cummins, Oklahoma, Jr., Weatherford, Okla.
Chandler Eaton, Duke, Jr., Alpharetta, Ga.
Steven Fisk, Georgia Southern, Sr., Stockbridge, Ga.
Stephen Franken, NC State, Sr., Raleigh, N.C.
Luis Gagne, LSU, Sr., Orlando, Fla.
Will Gordon, Vanderbilt, Sr., Davidson, N.C.
Will Grimmer, Ohio State, Sr., Cincinnati, Ohio
Cole Hammer, Texas, Fr., Houston, Texas
Viktor Hovland, Oklahoma State, Jr., Oslo, Norway
Philip Knowles, North Florida, Sr., Bradenton, Fla.
Peter Kuest, BYU, Jr., Fresno, Calif.
Brandon Mancheno, Auburn, So., Jacksonville, Fla.
Collin Morikawa, California, Sr., La Canada Flintridge, Calif.
Bryson Nimmer, Clemson, Sr., Bluffton, S.C.
Chandler Phillips, Texas A&M, Sr., Huntsville, Texas
Trent Phillips, Georgia, Fr., Inman, S.C.
Peng Pichaikool, Mississippi State, Jr., Bangkok, Thailand
Isaiah Salinda, Stanford, Sr., South San Francisco, Calif.
Matthias Schmid, Louisville, So., Maxhvette, Germany
Luke Schniederjans, Georgia Tech, Jr., Powder Springs, Ga.
Alex Smalley, Duke, Sr., Wake Forest, N.C.
Tyler Strafaci, Georgia Tech, Jr., Davie, Fla.
Justin Suh, Southern California, Sr., San Jose, Calif.
Matthew Wolff, Oklahoma State, So., Agoura Hills, Calif.
Brandon Wu, Stanford, Sr., New York, N.Y.
Chun An Yu, Arizona State, Jr., Taoyuan, Taiwan