Uploaded Ad
article image
Courtesy: Duke Athletics
Smalley, Eaton Named to All-ACC Men's Golf Team
Release: 05/11/2017
BDN+ Premium Content
Related Links
GREENSBORO, N.C. – Fifteen student-athletes have been honored as part of the 2016-17 Men's Golf All-Atlantic Coast Conference Team, as announced Thursday.

Duke sophomore Alex Smalley and freshman Chandler Eaton were both named to the 2016-2017 All-ACC Team after putting together outstanding campaigns that helped bring back the ACC trophy back to Durham.

Smalley will be entering the NCAA Baton Rouge Regional with a team-best 71.30 stroke average, and second-best against par mark of -0.06.

"Obviously I'm very excited to make the All-ACC team," Smalley said. "It's an honor, especially considering the caliber of players and the strength of teams that are in the ACC."

Eaton, who held the team lead for stroke average most of the year, is coming off an impressive ACC Championship having shot even-par and finishing 14th on the leaderboard.

"This is by far one of the best conferences, if not the best conference for golf in the country and it is an honor to play in it," Eaton said. "This award proves to myself that working hard and staying focused on the right things pays off in the end. I'd like to congratulate Alex Smalley, all of my teammates, Coach Green, Coach Heintz, and our strength coach Coach Merrill, they've played a huge role in my earning of this award."

Headlining the All-ACC Team are Wake Forest's Will Zalatoris, the ACC Player of the Year, and Clemson's Doc Redman, the ACC Freshman of the Year. NC State's Richard Sykes garnered ACC Coach of the Year accolades.

The All-ACC Team, Player, and Freshman of the Year were decided by a combination of the Golfstat and Golfweek/Sagarin rankings in conjunction with a vote of the league's 12 head coaches, while Coach of the Year was selected by a vote of the coaches.

Zalatoris finished the regular season ranked No. 4 in the country according to both Golfstat and Golfweek. A junior from Plano, Texas, he had a scoring average of 70.0 in 29 rounds and posted eight top-10 finishes in 10 events played this season, including a win at the General Hacker Championship and a runner-up finish at three other tournaments.  He is the third Demon Deacon to win the award, joining Webb Simpson (2008) and Bill Haas (2003-04).

Redman is the fourth Tiger to be named ACC Freshman of the Year and second straight after Bryson Nimmer won it last year. The Raleigh, North Carolina, native had seven top-10 finishes and won individual medalist honors at the Jackrabbit and Ka'anapali Collegiate Classic. Redman is currently ranked No. 26 in the country according to Golfstat and No. 24 in Golfweek. 

A member of the Golf Coaches Association Hall of Fame, Sykes is the longest tenured member of the Golf Coaches Association of America and announced his retirement after 46 years leading the Wolfpack. He has led NC State to appearances in 24 NCAA Regionals and 12 NCAA Championships, and has coached six ACC Champions and 48 All-ACC selections in his tenure. 

Seven ACC programs are represented on the All-ACC Team, led by Clemson and Wake Forest with three individuals.

ACC Player of the Year
Will Zalatoris, Wake Forest

Freshman of the Year
Doc Redman, Clemson

Coach of the Year
Richard Sykes, NC State

2016-17 Men's Golf All-ACC Team 
Doc Redman, Clemson
Bryson Nimmer, Clemson
Carson Young, Clemson
Cristobal Del Solar, Florida State
Harry Ellis, Florida State
James Clark, Georgia Tech
Luke Schniederjans, Georgia Tech
Stephen Franken, NC State
Derek Bard, Virginia
Jimmy Stanger, Virginia
Paul McBride, Wake Forest
Will Zalatoris, Wake Forest
Cameron Young, Wake Forest


Baseball vs. Wake Forest Audio
Thu, May 24 at 10:45 AM
Baseball vs. Louisville Audio
Fri, May 25 at 10:45 AM