Uploaded Ad
article image
Courtesy: Duke Athletics
Brooks Announces 2017-18 Women's Golf Schedule
Courtesy: Duke Sports Information
Release: 08/03/2017
BDN+ Premium Content
Related Links

DURHAM, N.C. – Six-time National Coach of the Year Dan Brooks announced the 2017-18 Duke women’s golf schedule Thursday as Brooks enters his 34th season at the helm of the Blue Devils. Returning four starters and welcoming three of the top recruits in the nation, Duke will be expected to contend for its seventh NCAA Championship, which will take place in Stillwater, Okla.

Reigning WGCA and ANNIKA National Player of the Year, Leona Maguire, headlines the returners, while also welcoming back 2016 NCAA Individual Champion Virginia Elena Carta, sophomore Ana Belac and senior Lisa Maguire.

Making their way to Durham for their first season are Jaravee Boonchant, Hannah O’Sullivan and Miranda Wang, after stellar amateur careers so far.

2017-18 Schedule at a glance:

Jim West Challenge
Sept. 11-12, 2017
The Woodlands, Texas (The Club at Carlton Woods)

Duke will compete in the Jim West Challenge, which is sixth year of competition, for the first time. The tournament will feature 36 holes of action on Sept. 11 followed by 18 holes on Sept. 12 at The Club at Carlton Woods in The Woodlands, Texas. The 14-team field includes seven teams that advanced to the 2017 postseason, including Duke, Kent State, Texas Tech, Augusta, Oklahoma, Texas A&M and TCU. The action is hosted by Texas State.

Windy City Collegiate Classic
Oct. 2-3, 2017
Chicago, Ill. (Lake Shore Country Club)

Seeing action in the Windy City Collegiate Classic for the second straight year, the Blue Devils will look to build on their fifth place finish a year ago. Leona Maguire carded rounds of 66, 70 and 72 to finish with an eight-under-par, 208, on her way to finishing tied second in 2016. The tournament will be held at Lake Shore Country Club in Chicago, Ill., and is expected to feature another stellar field.

Ruth’s Chris Tar Heel Invitational
Oct. 13-15, 2017
Chapel Hill, N.C. (Finley Golf Course)

One of the longest running collegiate tournaments in NCAA Division I, the Ruth’s Chris Tar Heel Invitational has been contested each year since 1976. The Blue Devils have claimed team honors in the event 14 times, including 13 times over the last 20 years. A Duke golfer has won individual medalist accolades 11 times, including most recently Leona Maguire in 2015. Maguire missed the 2016 invitational and the Blue Devils struggled with a 10th place ledger.

Landfall Tradition
Oct. 27-29, 2017
Wilmington, N.C. (Country Club of Landfall)

In the 16th year of action in Wilmington, N.C., Duke will return to compete in the Landfall Tradition for the first time since 2015 when the Blue Devils claimed the team title at the Country Club of Landfall. Duke carded rounds of 287, 284 and 284 to finish nine-under, 855. Celine Boutier and Leona Maguire turned in top seven finishes for the Blue Devils. Duke has won the title in 2015 and 2009. Seeing action in 2017 along with the Blue Devils are UNCW, Furman, Notre Dame, Alabama, Kentucky, Oklahoma State, Central Florida, LSU, Penn State, Clemson, Michigan, Purdue, Michigan State, South Carolina, Florida, NC State and Virginia.

Northrop Grumman Regional Challenge
Feb. 11-13, 2018
Palos Verdes, Calif. (Palos Verdes Golf Club)

To open the spring season, the Blue Devils will head west to compete in the very challenging 23rd annual Northrop Grumman Regional Challenge hosted by Ohio State. Duke will join the field for the seventh straight season and is coming off a third place finish in 2017. Leona Maguire paced the Blue Devils with rounds of 68, 71 and 70 for a four-under-par, 209, a year ago. As a team, Duke has yet to win the team title but Lindy Duncan (2012) and Brittany Lang (2005) each have claimed individual honors.

Darius Rucker Intercollegiate
March 2-4, 2018
Hilton Head, S.C. (Long Cove Club)

For the sixth straight season, the Darius Rucker Intercollegiate will be staged in Hilton Head, S.C., at Long Cove Club. The 2014 and 2015 team champions, Duke is coming off a second place finish behind Alabama in 2016. Sandy Choi led the way with a fifth place ledger, after carding rounds of 73, 69 and 73 for a two-over, 215. Leona Maguire tied for first in 2015, while Yu Liu won individual honors in 2014.

Evans Derby Experience
March 18-20, 2018
Auburn, Ala. (Auburn University Club)

Duke will head to Auburn, Ala., for the Evans Derby Experience in March, which will field a tournament for the first time since 2008. In a revival of the old Derby Invitational that was played off-and-on from 1994-2008, the name was derived from former coaches Kim Evans and Virginia Derby Grimes. The Blue Devils last competed in the event Nov. 4-6, 2005 and placed second. A solid field is expected to compete in 2018.

Liz Murphey Collegiate Classic
April 13-15, 2018
Athens, Ga. (University of Georgia Golf Course)

Duke will join the Liz Murphey Collegiate Classic once again in 2017, after not competing a year ago due to schedule conflicts. In its 46th year of existence, the Blue Devils have claimed team accolades four different times (2010, 2003, 2001 and 2000) at the University of Georgia Golf Course. Over the last three years, the event moved to stroke play qualifying and concluded with match play to help prepare for the NCAA Championship.

ACC Championship
April 20-22, 2018
Greensboro, N.C. (Sedgefield Country Club)

After a one-year hiatus, the ACC Championship will return to Greensboro, N.C., and the Sedgefield Country Club from April 20-22. Duke is coming off winning its 20th ACC title in school history in 2017, while Leona Maguire won her second ACC individual title in Pawley’s Island, S.C.

NCAA Regional Championship
May 7-9, 2018
Sites: Stanford, Calif., Austin, Texas, Madison, Wisc., Tallahassee, Fla.

The sites for the 2018 regionals will be Stanford, Calif., Austin, Texas, Madison, Wisc., and Tallahassee, Fla., as Duke will look to advance to the NCAA Championship. The Blue Devils have won NCAA regional titles in 2015, 2013, 2007, 2004, 2003, 2002, 2001, 2000 and 1996.

NCAA Championship
May 18-23, 2018
Stillwater, Okla. (Karsten Creek Golf Club)

Following back-to-back semifinal appearances in the NCAA Championship, the Blue Devils struggled in 2017 with an 18th place ledger in Sugar Grove, Ill. The championship moves to Stillwater, Okla., in 2018 and will be contested at Karsten Creek Golf Club. There will be four rounds of stroke play, followed by the top eight teams advancing to match play. Duke owns six NCAA Championships under the direction of Dan Brooks – 1999, 2002, 2005, 2006, 2007 and 2014.