Stay Connected with Duke Athletics
Uploaded Ad
article image
Courtesy: Tim Cowie
Leona Maguire, Jaravee Boonchant, Virginia Elena Carta
Trio of Blue Devils Named to All-ACC Academic Team
Courtesy: Duke Sports Information
Release: 06/21/2018
BDN+ Premium Content
Related Links

DURHAM, N.C. – Led by the ACC Women’s Golf Scholar-Athlete of the Year Leona Maguire, the Duke women’s golf program featured three Blue Devils on the 2018 All-ACC Academic Team, which was announced Thursday by the league office. Other Duke selections included freshman Jaravee Boonchant and junior Virginia Elena Carta.

A four-time first-team All-America and three-time ACC Player of the Year, Maguire also claimed her third ACC Championship medalist honor this past spring, having previously won the trophy in 2015 and 2017. Majoring in Psychology, she joined former Duke standout Amanda Blumenherst (2006-08) as the only three-time ACC individual champion in league history.

A four-time women’s golf All-ACC Academic Team member, the Cavan, Ireland, senior earned 2017-18 ACC Golfer of the Month honors for September, October and April and finished her career having earned ACC Golfer of the Month accolades a league-record nine times.

Maguire joined only Duke alumnae Blumenherst and Lindy Duncan as two-time ACC Women’s Golf Scholar-Athlete of the Year honorees. Out of 11 ACC Women’s Golf Scholar-Athlete of the Year selections, a Duke golfer as earned the honor eight times.

Florida State led the way with four honorees, while Clemson, Duke, Louisville, Miami, North Carolina, Notre Dame and Virginia each had three honorees. Virginia Tech and Wake Forest both had two selections and NC State one.

Boonchant, who hails from Bangkok, Thailand, turned in one of the best rookie seasons in Duke women’s golf history compiling a 71.62 stroke average to go along with two top five, six top 10 and eight top 20 finishes. Her 71.62 stroke average was the second-lowest in Blue Devil history for a freshman. Boonchant finished 54 holes at the ACC Championship in a tie for first along with Leona Maguire, before falling in a playoff to the two-time National Player of the Year. Boonchant earned third team All-America and All-ACC accolades for her efforts.

A product of Udine, Italy, Carta received All-ACC Academic Team honors for the third straight year, after turning in a 73.21 stroke average in eight tournaments. Carta, a three-time All-ACC selection, placed tied fifth at the ACC Championship, while also notching three other top 20 finishes. The 2016 NCAA Individual Champion notched 11 rounds of even or under par and finished the season ranked No. 72 in the Golfweek Individual ledger.

The ACC Scholar-Athlete of the Year award was established in September 2007 to be awarded annually to the top junior or senior student-athlete in their respective sports. Candidates for the award must have maintained a 3.0 grade point average for their career as well as a 3.0 for each of the last two semesters.

To be eligible for consideration for the All-ACC Academic team, a student-athlete, regardless of classification, must have earned a 3.00 grade point average for the previous semester and maintained a 3.00 cumulative average during her academic career.

The 2018 All-ACC Academic Women’s Golf team is as follows:

Emma Albrecht, Jr., Notre Dame (Science-Business)
Jaravee Boonchant, Fr., Duke (Undeclared)
Elizabeth Bose, Jr., Virginia Tech (Clinical Neuroscience & Biochemistry)
Virginia Elena Carta, Jr., Duke (Environmental Sciences & Policy)
Olivia Cason, Jr., Louisville (Finance)
Amanda Doherty, So., Florida State (Sports Management)
Kristyna Frydlova, Fr., Miami (Biochemistry)
Renate Grimstad, So., Miami (Sports Administration)
Maddy Hamilton, Jr., Notre Dame (Management Consulting)
Lauren Hartlage, So., Louisville (Finance)
Abigail Heck, Fr., Notre Dame (Mathematics)
Amanda Hollandsworth, Sr., Virginia Tech (Bio Science)
Beth Lillie, Fr., Virginia (Arts & Sciences)
Siyun Liu, So., Wake Forest (Mathematical Economics)
Leona Maguire, Sr., Duke (Psychology)
Marissa Messana, Sr., Clemson (Masters of Human Resource Development)
Kim Metraux, Sr., Florida State (Management)
Morgane Metraux, Sr., Florida State (Management)
Emilia Migliaccio, Fr., Wake Forest (Undeclared)
Bryana Nguyen, Sr., North Carolina (Media and Journalism)
Cecily Overbey, Sr., NC State (Business Administration)
Anna Redding, Jr., Virginia (Sociology)
Molly Skapik, Sr., Louisville (Accounting)
Kathleen Sumner, Fr., Florida State (Exploratory)
Kennedy Swan, So., Clemson (Parks, Rec. & Tourism Management)
Ana Paula Valdes, So., Clemson (Communications)
Brynn Walker, So., North Carolina (Media and Journalism)
Dewi Weber, Jr., Miami (Motion Pictures/Advertising)
Kelly Whaley, Jr., North Carolina (Exercise and Sport Science)

ACC Women’s Golf Scholar-Athlete of the Year:
2018 Leona Maguire, Duke
2017 Leona Maguire, Duke
2016 Daniella Darquea, Miami
2015 Celine Boutier, Duke
2014 Brittany Marchand, NC State
2013 Lindy Duncan, Duke
2012 Lindy Duncan, Duke
2011 Natalie Sheary, Wake Forest
2010 Alison Whitaker, Duke
2009 Amanda Blumenherst, Duke
2008 Amanda Blumenherst, Duke


Baseball vs. Campbell Audio Broadcast
Wed, Mar 20 at 3:10 PM
Baseball vs. Wake Forest Audio
Fri, Mar 22 at 3:40 PM
Men's Tennis vs. Miami Live Video
Fri, Mar 22 at 4:45 PM
Men's Tennis vs. Miami Live Video
Fri, Mar 22 at 4:45 PM