Stay Connected with Duke Athletics
Uploaded Ad
Uploaded Ad
Uploaded Ad
article image
Courtesy: Tim Cowie
Virginia Elena Carta
ACC to Nominate Carta for NCAA Woman of the Year
Courtesy: Duke Sports Information
Release: 07/03/2019
BDN+ Premium Content
Related Links

GREENSBORO, N.C. – After the NCAA recently released the nominees for 2019 NCAA Woman of the Year, the ACC announced Wednesday the two student-athletes the league will nominate for the award, including Duke women’s golf standout Virginia Elena Carta.

Carta will be submitted along with Pitt distance runner Gillian Schriever.

Now in its 29th year, the NCAA Woman of the Year program honors graduating female student-athletes who have distinguished themselves throughout their collegiate careers in the areas of academic achievement, athletics excellence, service and leadership. From the group of conference nominees, the top 10 will be chosen from each NCAA division in September. The selection committee will then determine the top three from each division to make up the final nine finalists. The national winner will be announced during the 2019 NCAA Woman of the Year awards event on Sunday, October 20, in Indianapolis.

Duke’s Carta, the 2016 NCAA Women’s Golf Individual Champion, capped her impressive career with a 2019 NCAA team championship in May, helping lead the Blue Devils to their seventh NCAA title in school history. She became the fourth Duke golfer to win both an NCAA team and individual title.

A native of Udine, Italy, Carta was recently selected a Google Cloud CoSIDA Academic All-America and Honorable Mention All-America by both Golfweek and the Women’s Golf Coaches Association (WGCA). A four-time women’s golf All-ACC Academic Team member and 2019 ACC Women’s Golf Scholar-Athlete of the Year, Carta also earned four All-ACC selections over her Duke career.

Carta spearheaded the creation of the Birdies for Babies program at Duke to help raise money for the Duke Children’s Neonatal and Pediatric Intensive Care Units. Concluding year two of the program, it raised $36,822.75 to help the children.

Pitt’s Schriever, who hails from West Creek, New Jersey, qualified for two NCAA championships during her running career with the Panthers and has earned All-ACC honors in both cross country and track. When Schriever first qualified for the NCAA Cross Country Championships as a sophomore in 2016, she became the first Panther woman to do so since 2004.

While earning her degree from Pitt’s prestigious Swanson School of Engineering, Schriever’s work included researching the ability of plastic microspheres to treat dry eye disease.

Schriever also led Pitt’s Engineers Without Borders technical team and oversaw the completion of the technical aspects of a group project to provide a source of clean drinking water to a Brazilian village through building and implementing bios and filters.

Carta and Schriever emerged as the ACC’s 2019 NCAA Woman of the Year candidates following a vote of the league’s 15 member schools. The strong list of ACC nominees also included Boston College’s Sam Apuzzo (lacrosse), Florida State’s Meghan King (softball), Georgia Tech’s Amy Ruiz (cross country/track & field), Louisville’s Asia Durr (basketball), Miami’s Samantha Gonzalez (track & field) and Emese Hof (basketball), North Carolina’s Morgan Goetz (field hockey), NC State’s Hannah Moore (swimming & diving), Notre Dame’s Jessica Harris (cross county/track &field), Pitt’s Kamalani Akeo (volleyball), Syracuse’s Santita Ebangwese (volleyball) and Paige Stoner (cross county/track &field), and Wake Forest’s Jennifer Kupcho (golf).

NCAA member colleges and universities nominated a record 585 female student-athletes for 2019 Woman of the Year consideration – the most in program history.

ACC member institutions claim three past NCAA Women of the Year honorees. Former Notre Dame soccer standout Elizabeth Tucker was named the 2014 NCAA Woman of the Year. Wake Forest’s Annie Bersagel (cross county/track &field) was recognized in 2006, and Virginia’s Peggy Boutilier (field hockey/lacrosse) received the honor in 1998.