Stay Connected with Duke Athletics
Uploaded Ad
Uploaded Ad
Uploaded Ad
article image
Courtesy: Shane Lardinois
Kayla McCoy
McCoy Named to MAC Hermann Trophy Watch List
Courtesy: Duke Sports Information
Release: 08/10/2018
BDN+ Premium Content
Related Links

DURHAM, N.C. – Heading into her final season with Duke women’s soccer, senior Kayla McCoy is one of 45 players named to the Women’s MAC Hermann Trophy Watch List, which is presented annually to the most outstanding female player of the year.

A First Team All-ACC selection in 2017, McCoy enters her senior campaign after tying for the team lead in goals last year. The Lincolnwood, Ill., native recorded a goal in 12 contests last season and paced the Blue Devils with a pair of multi-goal performances. McCoy currently stands tied for seventh in the DWS record books in career game-winning goals (10) and multi-goal games (4).

The senior picked up where she left off last season, tallying a goal in the sixth minute of Duke’s 3-0 exhibition victory against Georgia on Thursday, Aug. 9.

This year’s MAC Hermann Trophy winners will be announced Friday, Jan. 4, 2019 at the Missouri Athletic Club in St. Louis. The MAC Hermann Trophy Watch Lists are compiled by members of the United Soccer Coaches Men’s and Women’s NCAA Division I All-America Committees. Fifteen semifinalists will be named for both the men’s and women’s MAC Hermann Trophy near the end of the college season based on voting by NCAA Division I coaches and from those candidates, three finalists will ultimately be placed on the ballot for the coveted award.

For more information about the MAC Hermann Trophy, including a list of past winners, visit

Fans can keep up with all things Duke women’s soccer by following the program on Twitter, Facebook and Instagram by searching for “DukeWSoc”. Behind-the-scenes content of women’s soccer and all Duke athletic programs can be found on Snapchat by following “dukeathletics”.

2018 MAC Hermann Trophy Watch List

Julia Ashley, Sr., D, North Carolina
Marjorie Boilesen, Jr., F, Florida Gulf Coast
Jaye Boissiere, Jr., M, Stanford
Deyna Castellanos, Jr., F, Florida State
Alana Cook, Sr., D, Stanford
Katie Cousins, Jr., M, Tennessee
Paige Culver, Sr., D, Kent State
Tierna Davidson*, Jr., D, Stanford
Savannah DeMelo, So., M, USC
Emma Ekic, So., M, Louisville
Caitlin Farrell, Sr., F, Georgetown
Grace Fisk*, Jr., D, South Carolina
Jessie Fleming**, Jr., M, UCLA
Rylee Foster, Jr., K, West Virginia
Abby Givens, Jr., F, Princeton
Hailey Harbison, Sr., D, Pepperdine
Cyera Hintzen, Jr., F, Texas
Tziarra King, Jr., M, North Carolina State
CeCe Kizer, Sr., M, Mississippi
Alli Klug, Jr., D, Saint Louis
Taylor Kornieck, Jr., M, Colorado
Natalia Kuikka, Sr., D, Florida State
Katie Lund, Jr., K, TCU
Catarina Macario*, So., F, Stanford
Hailie Mace*, Sr., F, UCLA
Kayla McCoy, Sr., F, Duke
Kaiya McCullough, Jr., D, UCLA
Tegan McGrady, Sr., D, Stanford
Paige Monaghan, Sr., M, Butler
Casey Murphy*, Sr., K, Rutgers
Emily Ogle, Sr., M, Penn State
Victoria Pickett, Jr., M, Wisconsin
Ally Prisock, Sr., D, USC
Dani Rhodes, Jr., F, Wisconsin
Deana Rose, So., F, Florida
Alessia Russo, So., F, North Carolina
Ashley Sanchez, So., F, UCLA
Khadija Shaw, Sr., F, Tennessee
Bianca St. Georges, Sr., D, West Virginia
Vera Varis, Sr., K, UCF
Evelyne Viens, Jr., F, South Florida
Marisa Viggiano, Sr, M, Northwestern
Annie Walker, Sr., F, Rice
Ally Watt, Jr., F, Texas A&M
Haley Woodard, Sr., F, Oklahoma State

* - 2017 MAC Hermann Semifinalist
** - 2017 MAC Hermann Finalist


MORE Athletics