Stay Connected with Duke Athletics
Uploaded Ad
Uploaded Ad
Uploaded Ad
article image
Courtesy: Sara D. Davis,
Kevin White
White Named DI Men's Basketball Committee Chair
Courtesy: Duke Sports Information
Release: 07/13/2018
BDN+ Premium Content
Related Links

DURHAM, N.C. – Duke University Vice President and Director of Athletics Kevin White has been named chair of the NCAA Division I Men’s Basketball Committee for the 2019-20 season.  He will serve as the committee’s vice chair for the 2018-19 campaign alongside chair Bernard Muir of Stanford University.

“It’s an incredible honor to serve on this committee, and to be selected to take a leadership role by my esteemed colleagues is quite humbling,” White said. “While our primary charge is to be caretakers of the Division I men’s basketball tournament, there is a responsibility to be stewards of the sport of college basketball, and that’s a daily task we all take very seriously. I look forward to continue working with Bernard, the rest of the committee, Dan Gavitt and his great staff in the coming two years.”

Hired at Duke on May 31, 2008, White has been on the NCAA Men’s Basketball Committee since the 2015-16 season. He is a member of the United States Olympic Committee board of directors and is a past president of the Division 1A Athletic Directors’ Association and the National Association of Collegiate Directors of Athletics.

White and Muir are joined on the committee by Jim Schaus, the director of athletics at Ohio; Janet Cone, the director of athletics at UNC Asheville; Mitch Barnhart, the director of athletics at Kentucky; Craig Thompson, the commissioner of the Mountain West Conference; Jim Phillips, the vice president for athletics and recreation at Northwestern; Tom Burnett, the commissioner of the Southland Conference; Bernadette McGlade, the commissioner of the Atlantic 10 Conference; and Chris Reynolds, the director of athletics at Bradley. Current chair Bruce Rasmussen, the athletics director at Creighton, and Tom Holmoe, the director of athletics at Brigham Young, will rotate off the committee Sept. 1.


MORE Athletics