Uploaded Ad
article image
Courtesy: Duke Athletics
Bob Harris
Harris Named NSMA Sportscaster of the Year
Courtesy: Duke Sports Information
Release: 04/18/2017
BDN+ Premium Content
Related Links

DURHAM, N.C. – Duke play-by-play broadcaster Bob Harris was named North Carolina’s Sportscaster of the Year by the National Sports Media Association.  The honor marks the fourth for Harris, who also earned the accolade in 1988, 1991 and 2011.

Harris recently completed his 41st and final year as the Voice of the Blue Devils after announcing his retirement from the post this past July 5.

Harris closed his football broadcasting tenure at Duke having called 471 consecutive games.  The streak began on September 11, 1976, with Duke’s season-opener at Tennessee and concluded on November 26, 2016, with the season finale at Miami.  He called six postseason bowl games (1989 All American, 1994 Hall of Fame, 2012 Belk, 2013 Chick-fil-A, 2014 Hyundai Sun & 2015 Pinstripe) along with Duke’s appearances in the Coca Cola Bowl against Clemson on November 30, 1991, in Tokyo, Japan, and the Dr Pepper ACC Championship Game versus Florida State on December 7, 2013, in Charlotte, N.C. 

Harris completed his remarkable career having called 1,392 Duke basketball games.  His tenure with the Blue Devils featured 13 NCAA Final Four events while calling 10 championship games including all five of Duke’s national titles in 1991 (Indianapolis), 1992 (Minneapolis), 2001 (Minneapolis), 2010 (Indianapolis) and 2015 (Indianapolis).  Harris also broadcast 16 ACC Tournament championship game victories for the Blue Devils in 1978, 1980, 1986, 1988, 1992, 1999, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2005, 2006, 2009, 2010, 2011 and 2017.

A native of Albemarle, N.C., Harris retired as the longest-tenured play-by-play announcer in the history of the Atlantic Coast Conference.  He is a member of the North Carolina Sports Hall of Fame (inducted in 2006) and the Stanly County Sports Hall of Fame (1993). 

In 2009, Harris was honored with the Atlantic Coast Conference’s prestigious Skeeter Francis Award, an honor presented annually to individuals for distinguished service to the league.  In 2016, Harris received The Order of the Long Leaf Pine, an honor conferred by the Governor of North Carolina for exemplary service to the State of North Carolina and its communities.