Uploaded Ad
article image
Courtesy: Duke Athletics
Daniel Jones
Jones Placed on O'Brien Great 8 List
Courtesy: Duke Sports Information
Release: 09/11/2017
BDN+ Premium Content
Related Links

FORT WORTH, Texas – Redshirt sophomore quarterback Daniel Jones was named a Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award “Great 8” performer on Monday. The honor from the Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award organization is the first of the year for Jones and the second of his career.

Earlier on Monday, Jones was tabbed a Manning Award Star of the Week.

Last Saturday in leading Duke to a 41-17 victory against Northwestern, Jones turned in the 14th game in ACC history with 300 or more passing yards and 100 or more rushing yards. Jones joined former Duke quarterback Brandon Connette as the only two in program history to accomplish the feat.

Jones completed 29-of-45 (.644) passes for 305 yards and two touchdowns and rushed 16 times for 108 yards (413 total yards) versus the Wildcats. The Charlotte, N.C., native engineered a Duke offense that amassed 538 yards and 34 first downs, converted 15-of-22 (.682) third down opportunities and maintained possession for 41:18.

All 130 FBS quarterbacks are eligible for the Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award weekly honor. The winner will be one of the week’s “Great 8” quarterbacks and will be announced Thursday.

In 1938, Davey O’Brien, who wore No. 8 as a star quarterback for TCU, became the first player ever to win the Heisman Trophy, Maxwell Award and Walter Camp Award in the same year. He was inducted into the College Football Hall of Fame in 1955.

O’Brien was drafted fourth overall in the 1939 NFL Draft and earned Pro Bowl honors in his rookie season after setting a National Football League record for season passing yardage. The NFL’s highest-paid player retired after the 1940 season to become an FBI agent.

The Davey O’Brien Foundation was created in 1977, and the National Quarterback Award, the oldest and most prestigious college quarterback award, was first issued in 1981. The Davey O’Brien Fan Vote, now in its 11th year, gives fans a chance to play a role in determining the award winner by voting daily at

Since 1977, the Davey O’Brien Foundation has given away more than $1 million in scholarships and university grants to help high school and college athletes transform leadership on the field into leadership in life. For more information, visit

Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award “Great 8” Performers
Sam Darnold, USC
Justin Herbert, Oregon
Lamar Jackson, Louisville
Daniel Jones, Duke
Baker Mayfield, Oklahoma
Shane Morris, Central Michigan
Nathan Stanley, Iowa
Brent Stockstill, Middle Tennessee