Stay Connected with Duke Athletics
Uploaded Ad
Uploaded Ad
article image
Courtesy: Duke Athletics
Daniel Jones
Jones Named Manning Award Star of the Week
Courtesy: Duke Sports Information
Release: 09/10/2018
BDN+ Premium Content
Related Links

NEW ORLEANS – Redshirt junior quarterback Daniel Jones was tabbed a Manning Award Star of the Week on Monday and is now eligible to be voted as the Manning Award Quarterback of the Week. The selection as a Manning Award Star of the Week is the fourth of Jones’ career and first of the 2018 season.

Jones, a 6-5, 220-pound Charlotte, N.C., native, completed 16-of-22 (.727) passes for 192 yards and three touchdowns before leaving the contest due to injury late in the third quarter. He posted a pass efficiency rating of 191.04 to help Duke defeat Northwestern, 21-7.

During the second quarter in Evanston, Jones threw three touchdown passes, becoming the fourth Blue Devil quarterback with three or more TD passes in a quarter.

With the victory at Northwestern, Duke snapped the Wildcats’ nine-game winning streak, which was the longest among Power 5 programs entering the weekend. The Blue Devils join Stanford as the only two teams nationally to open 2018 with consecutive wins over 10-win teams from a season ago.

The Manning Award, sponsored by the Allstate Sugar Bowl, has named eight quarterbacks as its “Stars of the Week.” College football fans can now go to the Allstate Sugar Bowl Facebook page to vote for what they think was the best performance from this past weekend. When voting closes on Thursday at 12 noon the top vote-getter will be announced as the Manning Award Quarterback of the Week.  

The Manning Award was created by the Allstate Sugar Bowl in 2004 to honor the college football accomplishments of Archie, Peyton and Eli Manning. It is the only quarterback award that includes the candidates’ bowl performances in its balloting.


Manning Award Stars of the Week

Blake Barnett, USF

Daniel Jones, Duke

D’Eriq King, Houston

Drew Lock, Missouri

Kyler Murray, Oklahoma

Chris Robison, Florida Atlantic

Zac Thomas, Appalachian State

Terry Wilson, Kentucky