Stay Connected with Duke Athletics
Uploaded Ad
Uploaded Ad
Uploaded Ad
article image
Courtesy: Duke Athletics
Deon Jackson
Jackson Named Preseason All-ACC
Courtesy: Duke Sports Information
Release: 07/23/2019
BDN+ Premium Content
Related Links

GREENSBORO, N.C. – Duke junior running back Deon Jackson was named to the 2019 Preseason All-ACC Team by a vote of 173 credentialed media members at last week’s ACC Football Kickoff in Charlotte. 

The Blue Devils were also picked to finish fifth in the Coastal Division in the media’s Preseason ACC Poll released Monday.

Jackson, a 6-0, 220-pound native of Atlanta, is a preseason All-ACC selection by Athlon Sports (1st team) as an all-purpose back and by Phil Steele’s College Football Preview (2nd team) as a running back. This month, he was named to the watch list for the Doak Walker Award, an honor presented annually to the nation’s top running back.

In 25 career games, he has rushed 193 times for 944 yards (4.89) and seven TDs, caught 30 passes for 257 yards (8.57) and two scores and returned 25 kickoffs for 541 yards (21.64). Jackson established the Duke single-game record with 403 all-purpose yards (162 rushing, 89 receiving & 152 kickoff return) at Pittsburgh in 2018.

Jackson has topped the 100-yard plateau on the ground twice, against Pittsburgh (10-162; 2018) and Miami (14-113; 2018) and has rushed for 50 or more yards in eight career games. He owns eight career rushing attempts of 20 or more yards, including a career-long 75-yard TD jaunt versus Miami in 2018. Additionally, Jackson has surpassed 100 kickoff return yards twice, against Pittsburgh (6-152; 2018) and Wake Forest (6-110; 2018).

Duke season tickets are available online at or by calling the Duke Athletic Ticket Office at 919-681-2583.


 2019 All-ACC Preseason Football Team
(Total votes in parenthesis)

WR – Tee Higgins, Clemson (145)
WR – Justyn Ross, Clemson (123)
WR – Tamorrion Terry, Florida State (69)
TE – Brevin Jordan, Miami (66)
AP – Deon Jackson, Duke (47)
OT – Tremayne Anchrum, Clemson (100)
OT – Ben Petrula, Boston College (54)
OG – John Simpson, Clemson (136)
OG – Gage Cervenka, Clemson (45)
C – Sean Pollard, Clemson (75)
QB – Trevor Lawrence, Clemson (161)
RB – Travis Etienne, Clemson (144)
RB – AJ Dillon, Boston College (144)

DE – Xavier Thomas, Clemson (84)
DE – Alton Robinson, Syracuse (83)
DT – Marvin Wilson, Florida State (105)
DT – Nyles Pinckney, Clemson (49)
LB – Shaquille Quarterman, Miami (118)
LB – Isaiah Simmons, Clemson (109)
LB – Michael Pinckney, Miami (66)
CB – Bryce Hall, Virginia (122)
CB – A.J. Terrell, Clemson (62)
S – Andre Cisco, Syracuse (80)
S – Tanner Muse, Clemson (78)

Special Teams
PK – Andre Szmyt, Syracuse (88)
P – Sterling Hofrichter, Syracuse (70)
SP – Maurice Ffrench, Pitt (48)

ACC Player of the Year
1. Trevor Lawrence, QB, Clemson – 127
2. Travis Etienne, RB, Clemson – 24
3. AJ Dillon, RB, Boston College – 15
4. Bryce Perkins, QB, Virginia – 6
5. Cam Akers, RB, Florida State – 1