Stay Connected with Duke Athletics
Uploaded Ad
Uploaded Ad
Hines Set for College Football Hall of Fame Enshrinement
Courtesy: Duke Sports Information
Release: 07/15/2011
article image
Clarkston Hines
Photo Courtesy: Duke Photography
BDN+ Premium Content
Related Links
DURHAM, N.C. - As a member of the 2010 College Football Hall of Fame Football Bowl Subdivision Class, former Duke standout wide receiver Clarkston Hines will participate in the annual Enshrinement Festival this weekend in South Bend, Ind.

On Saturday, the Enshrinement Festival Grand Parade will begin at 9:30 a.m., with a Youth Football Clinic scheduled for 1 p.m.  The Enshrinement Dinner & Show will take place at 7:30 p.m., and a live internet stream of the ceremony will be available at

Hines starred for the Blue Devils from 1986-89 and finished his career with 189 pass receptions for 3,318 yards and 38 touchdowns.  As a senior in 1989, he earned ACC Player of the Year honors while helping Duke win a share of the conference championship with a 6-1 league record.  Hines received first team All-America accolades in both 1988 and 1989.

A native of Chapel Hill, N.C., Hines holds school career records for pass receptions, receiving yards, receiving touchdowns and 100-yard receiving games (17) while holding school single-season standards for receiving yards (1,149 in 1989), receiving touchdowns (17 in 1989), 100-yard receiving games (6 in both 1987 & 1988) and total points (104 in 1989).

On the ACC's career lists, Hines continues to rank first in touchdown receptions, first in 100-yard receiving games, third in receiving yards and ninth in pass receptions.  A three-time first team All-ACC selection, he is the only player in league history to pace the conference in receiving yardage three consecutive seasons and continues to hold the conference single-season record for touchdown catches.

Nicknamed the "Frequent Flyer", Hines was a nine-time ACC Player of the Week honoree, and led Duke's 1989 squad to the league crown and an 8-4 overall record with an appearance in the All American Bowl, where he caught six passes for 112 yards in a loss to Texas Tech.  Duke's team MVP as a senior, he later represented Duke in both the Japan and Senior Bowls.

After graduating from Duke as the NCAA's all-time leader in touchdown receptions and only the second player in history with three 1,000-yard receiving seasons, Hines was a ninth round selection of the Buffalo Bills in the 1990 NFL Draft.  He was inducted into the Duke Sports Hall of Fame in 1999.

Other members of the class include former players Dennis Byrd (DT; N.C. State, 1964-67), Ronnie Caveness (C; Arkansas, 1962-64), Ray Childress (DL; Texas A&M, 1981-84), Randy Cross (OG; UCLA, 1973-75), Sam Cunningham (RB; Southern California, 1970-72), Mark Herrmann (QB; Purdue, 1977-80), Desmond Howard (WR; Michigan, 1989-91), Chet Moeller (DB; Navy, 1973-75), Jerry Stovall (HB; LSU, 1960-62), Pat Tillman (LB; Arizona State, 1994-97) and Alfred Williams (LB; Colorado, 1987-90).   In addition, two former head coaches - Barry Alvarez (Wisconsin, 1990-05) and Gene Stallings (Alabama, 1990-96) - join the group.

Hines becomes the 10th former Blue Devil to earn enshrinement into the College Football Hall of Fame, joining Fred Crawford (inducted in 1973), Al DeRogatis (1986), Dan Hill (1962), Steve Lach (1980), George McAfee (1961), Mike McGee (1990), Bill Murray (1974), Ace Parker (1955) and Eric Tipton (1965).  In addition to McGee and Murray, other former Duke head coaches Howard Jones (1951) and Wallace Wade (1955) also have been inducted.