Uploaded Ad
article image
Courtesy: Duke Athletics
1992 National Champions
25th Anniversary: Duke Wins 1992 National Title
Courtesy: Duke Sports Information
Release: 04/06/2017
BDN+ Premium Content
Related Links

On April 6, 1992, Duke won its second straight men's basketball national championship after knocking off Michgian 71-51 at the Metrodome in Minneapolis, Minn. Today, celebrates the 25th Anniversary of that game by taking a closer look at the contest itself and the season that led up to it.

DURHAM, N.C. -- The 1991-1992 Duke men’s basketball season preview began this way: “When four starters return to any college basketball team there is always cause for celebration. When the four starters return from a team that captured the national championship the year before, the possibilities seem endless.”  
With a roster that included ACC Athlete of the Year Christian Laettner, All-ACC guards Bobby Hurley and Thomas Hill, sophomore Grant Hill and four additional returning letterwinners, the Blue Devils were poised to defend their title.  
On December 14, Duke faced future NCAA championship opponent Michigan in Ann Arbor. The Blue Devils were 6-0 heading into the night, having swept four of the five previous teams by at least a 25-point margin. After leading by as many as 17 points early in the second half, Duke came back from a two-point deficit when Hurley scored five points in the last two minutes of play to secure an 88-85 victory.
The ACC season started strong, with solid victories over Virginia, Florida State, Maryland, Georgia Tech and NC State.  
On February 1, 1992, Duke celebrated its 500th win in Cameron Indoor Stadium with a 100-71 blowout against Notre Dame.  
The first real challenge of the ACC season came against perennial rival North Carolina on its home court in Chapel Hill. Hurley broke his foot midway through the first half, but played anyway as the ninth-ranked Tar Heels posted a 75-73 upset victory over top-ranked Duke.
As tournament time approached, Duke had only suffered two losses: one to North Carolina and a second against Wake Forest in late February when Duke squandered a 10-point lead in the game’s final five minutes to fall to the Demon Deacons 72-68.  
Laettner and Brian Davis had won just about every prize imaginable in their four-year Duke careers except one, the ACC Tournament championship. Duke recorded wins over Maryland  and Georgia Tech to reach the finals. The Blue Devils registered a crushing 94-74 defeat of North Carolina in the 1992 ACC Tournament final that brought redemption after the previous year’s 22-point loss to UNC in the same game. Laettner left nothing to chance with 25 points, 10 rebounds and seven steals. Five others hit double-figures, including Grant Hill who hit all eight of his shots and added seven assists.  
With eight straight trips to NCAAs, Final Four berths every year but one since 1986, and the 1991 title securely under its belt, the 1992 Duke squad was looking to make history when it opened the tournament on March 19.  
Duke, the top-seed in the East Regional, posted wins over Campbell, Iowa and Seton Hall to reach the Elite Eight.
The Blue Devils’ Elite Eight matchup against Kentucky on March 28, 1992 saw two of the most famed programs in basketball history take aim at each other. Kentucky did everything possible to dethrone the champions and appeared to have Duke right where it wanted it with 2.1 seconds to play in the overtime period after Sean Woods drove by Hurley and banked in a one-handed shot over Laettner for a one-point lead.  
Then, in a season equally filled with magical moments and overwhelming adversity, a miracle took place. Grant Hill flung the undefended inbounds pass to Laettner who leaped to catch the ball over John Pelphrey and Deron Feldhaus. Time seemed to stand still as Laettner faked to his right, turned to his left and lofted an 18-footer that found nothing but net as time expired. The Spectrum crowd erupted as the Duke players jumped on Laettner to celebrate another trip to the Final Four and a 104-103 victory over Kentucky.
Up next was Indiana, an intriguing matchup between the two winningest programs in NCAA Tournament history. The beginning of the second half, which began with Duke trailing by five points, 42-37, turned into one of Duke’s finest moments of the season. The Blue Devils reeled off 13 straight points and then made it a 21-3 surge to open the first 10 minutes of the frame to make the score 58-45 in favor of Duke. Free throws by Antonio Lang and Cherokee Parks closed out the 81-78 victory as the Blue Devils headed to the NCAA championship game for the third consecutive season.
The billing Michigan and Duke had entering the Metrodome on April 6th to decide the national champion read: “The Fab Five meets The Victory Tour.”   
Grant Hill made his first start since February when he was inserted for an injured Davis, scoring 18 points and grabbing 10 rebounds as Duke stumbled out of the blocks but hung tough in trailing by just one at the half, 31-30. The Blue Devils turned up the defensive pressure in the second frame, forcing Michigan into 29 percent shooting from the field and just 20 second-half points.  
With 13.5 seconds remaining and a comfortable 20-point cushion, Coach K gave his starters one last curtain call to an incredible season-long journey. A roar echoed through the dome as players exchanged high-fives and hugs to start the celebration of the 71-51 victory.

1991-92 Honors & Awards
Brian Davis
ACC All-Tournament (first team)

Grant Hill
Second Team All-America (UPI)
Honorable Mention All-America (AP)
NCAA All-Final Four Team
Second Team All-ACC
ACC All-Tournament (second team)

Thomas Hill
Third Team All-ACC

Bobby Hurley
National Player of the Year finalist (Wooden, Eastman)
First Team All-America (NABC, Wooden)
Second Team All-America (Basketball Times)
Third Team All-America (AP, UPI, Basketball Weekly)
NCAA Final Four MVP
NCAA East Region All-Tournament Team
Second Team All-ACC
ACC All-Tournament (first team)
USBWA First Team All-District

Christian Laettner
National Player of the Year (unanimous)
First Team All-America (unanimous)
All-Final Four Team
East Region MVP
ACC Player of the Year
First Team All-ACC
ACC Tournament MVP
ACC All-Tournament (first team)
USBWA District Player of the Year

Mike Krzyzewski
National Coach of the Year (Sporting News, Naismith)
USBWA District Coach of the Year