Stay Connected with Duke Athletics
Uploaded Ad
article image
Courtesy: Duke Athletics
Allen Leads Four Blue Devils on Oscar Robertson List
Courtesy: Duke Sports Information
Release: 11/06/2017
BDN+ Premium Content
Related Links

ST. LOUIS, MISS. – The U.S. Basketball Writers Association announced today the 32 watch list members for the 2018 Oscar Robertson Trophy. Duke led the way as the only school with four players to place among the 32 members. Senior guard Grayson Allen, the team’s leading returning scorer (14.5 ppg) and rebounder (3.7 rpg), along with freshmen Marvin Bagley III, Wendell Carter, Jr. and Trevon Duval were the four Blue Devils to make the preseason list.

The Oscar Robertson Trophy Preseason Watch List adds another preseason honor to the impressive list Duke has garnered. Allen has been named to several preseason All-American lists as well as the 2018 Jerry West Watch List. Bagley III and Carter, Jr. both earned spots on the 2018 Karl Malone Watch List with Bagley III also being named ACC Preseason Rookie of the Year. Duval was named to the 2018 Bob Cousy Watch List.

The Oscar Robertson Trophy is voted on by the entire membership of the association, which consists of more than 900 journalists. It is the nation's oldest award and the only one named after a former player. The legendary Oscar Robertson was the USBWA's first player of the year in 1959 and was the consensus National Player of the Year as a sophomore in 1958, the season before USBWA started giving its player of the year award. The USBWA renamed the award the Oscar Robertson Trophy in 1998.

Recent winners of the Oscar Robertson Trophy include Josh Hart (2017), Buddy Hield (2016) and Frank Kaminsky (2015).

Here are the 32 candidates for the 2018 Oscar Robertson Trophy:

Jaylen Adams, St. Bonventure
Deng Adel, Louisville
Grayson Allen, Duke
KeVaughn Allen, Florida
Deandre Ayton, Arizona
Marvin Bagley III, Duke
Mohamed Bamba, Texas
Joel Berry II, North Carolina
Trevon Bluiett, Xavier
Miles Bridges, Michigan State
Bruce Brown Jr., Miami
Jalen Brunson, Villanova
Jevon Carter, West Virginia
Wendell Carter Jr., Duke
Gary Clark, Cincinnati
Bonzie Colson, Notre Dame
Mike Daum, South Dakota State
Angel Delgado, Seton Hall
Hamidou Diallo, Kentucky
Trevon Duval, Duke
Devonte Graham, Kansas
Ethan Happ, Wisconsin
Kevin Knox, Kentucky
Jock Landale, Saint Mary’s
Yante Maten, Georgia
Chimezie Metu, USC
Michael Porter Jr., Missouri
Collin Sexton, Alabama
Landry Shamet, Wichita State
Reid Travis, Stanford
Allonzo Trier, Arizona
Robert Williams, Texas A&M


Men's Basketball vs. Texas Tech Radio
Thu, Dec 20 at 6:00 PM
Women's Basketball at Oregon State
Thu, Dec 20 at 9:45 PM
Independence Bowl: Duke vs. Temple
Thu, Dec 27 at 12:00 PM
Women's Basketball vs. ECU Live
Fri, Dec 28 at 6:45 PM