Stay Connected with Duke Athletics
Uploaded Ad
article image
Courtesy: Duke Athletics
Bagley Sweeps; Three Earn All-ACC Honors
Courtesy: Duke Sports Information
Release: 03/04/2018
BDN+ Premium Content
Related Links

DURHAM, N.C. – Duke freshman forward Marvin Bagley III has been named both the 2018 ACC Player of the Year and Rookie of Year, leading three Blue Devils to earn All-ACC mention and becoming just the second player in ACC history to sweep the league’s Player and Rookie of the Year honors.

Bagley joins former Duke standout Jahlil Okafor (2015) as the only players in the ACC’s 65-year history to sweep the conference top individual awards in the same season. Bagley was also the only unanimous selection for both first-team All-ACC All-Freshman honors.

Senior guard Grayson Allen earned his second All-ACC honor with a spot on third team, while freshman forward Wendell Carter, Jr., was named second-team All-ACC and garnered an All-Freshman nod.

Bagley was the choice for ACC Player of the Year by 37 members of the 57-member voting panel (15 ACC head coaches, 42 selected media) that cast ballots for this year’s postseason honors. Boston College’s Jerome Robinson placed second with 14 votes. The ACC Rookie of the Year balloting was more clear cut, with Bagley receiving 56 of the 57 votes cast. Virginia’s De’Andre Hunter received the other vote.

Highly touted as the nation’s top recruit entering the season, the 6-11, 234-pound Bagley lived up to his billing by keying the fifth-ranked Blue Devils to a 25-6 overall record and the No. 2 seed in the upcoming New York Life ACC Tournament. The Phoenix native is tied for the ACC scoring lead at 20.7 points per game and leads the conference with 11.9 rebounds per contest. He is second in the ACC in field goal percentage at .604 and is one of only two players in the country -- and the only one from a power conference -- averaging better than 20.0 points, better than 10.0 rebounds and shooting better then .600 from the field.

A finalist for the Wooden Award, the Naismith Award and the Karl Malone Award, Bagley leads the ACC with 19 double-doubles, 10 of which have come in conference play. The rookie, who has scored at least 30 points in a game a league-leading six times, was twice named the ACC Player of the Week and earned ACC Rookie of the Week recognition six times. He has scored in double figures in 26 of the 27 games he has played.

Allen is second on the team and 12th in the ACC in scoring at 15.5 points per game. The Jacksonville, Fla., native is ninth in the league in assists per game (4.6), fifth in steals per game (1.7), fifth in free-throw shooting (.850) and fifth in three-pointers per game (2.6). The senior, who is the ACC’s active career leader in points and three-point field goals, has scored 1,904 career points to rank 18th on Duke’s all-time list. The Jerry West Award finalist is fifth at Duke in career three-pointers (270) and seventh in career free-throw percentage (.834). Allen was a first-team All-ACC selection in 2016.

Carter is 17th in the ACC in scoring at 13.9 points per game, is fourth in rebounding at 9.5 boards per game and fourth in the league in field-goal percentage (.572). The rookie is one of only two players in the country shooting better than .570 from the field, better than .480 from behind the arc and better than .720 from the free throw line. The 15 double-doubles for the Atlanta native rank second on the team and fourth in the country among freshmen. The Karl Malone Award finalists has led Duke in rebounding 15 times, including a pair of 20-10 games.

Virginia’s Tony Bennett was recognized as the ACC Coach of the Year, while the Cavaliers’ senior Isaiah Wilkins received the nod as the ACC Defensive Player of the Year and freshman De’Andre Hunter was tabbed as the Sixth Man of the Year. North Carolina junior Luke Maye was voted the ACC’s Most Improved Player.

Bagley is joined on the All-ACC first team by Boston College’s Jerome Robinson, North Carolina’s Maye and senior Joel Berry II, and Virginia sophomore Kyle Guy.

Duke, which won last year’s ACC Tournament championship, has a double-bye to the quarterfinals and plays Thursday night at 7 p.m. in Brooklyn. The Blue Devils will face Virginia Tech, Notre Dame or Pitt with a spot in the semifinals on the line.

2018 Atlantic Coast Conference Post-Season Honors


First Team

Marvin Bagley III, Duke, 280*

Jerome Robinson, Boston College, 273

Luke Maye, North Carolina, 246

Joel Berry II, North Carolina, 223

Kyle Guy, Virginia, 168

Second Team

Tyus Battle, Syracuse, 159

Marcquise Reed, Clemson, 143

Devon Hall, Virginia, 129

Wendell Carter, Jr., Duke, 126

Justin Robinson, Virginia Tech, 123


Third Team

Grayson Allen, Duke, 119

Matt Farrell, Notre Dame, 89

Ty Jerome, Virginia, 67

Josh Okogie, Georgia Tech, 57

Omer Yurtseven, NC State, 54

Honorable Mention

Deng Adel, Louisville, 51

Ky Bowman, Boston College, 37

Lonnie Walker, Miami (FL), 30

Bryant Crawford, Wake Forest, 23

Markell Johnson, NC State, 21

Ray Spalding, Louisville, 19

Allerik Freeman, NC State, 18

Theo Pinson, North Carolina, 14

Terance Mann, Florida State, 12

Gabe DeVoe, Clemson, 12

All-Freshman Team

Marvin Bagley III, Duke, 57*

Wendell Carter, Jr., Duke, 56

Lonnie Walker, Miami, 51

De'Andre Hunter, Virginia, 33

Oshae Brissett, Syracuse, 33

All-Defensive Team

Isaiah Wilkins, Virginia, 49

Anas Mahmoud, Louisville, 37

Elijah Thomas, Clemson, 34

Devon Hall, Virginia, 32

Ben Lammers, Georgia Tech, 25

Player of the Year

Marvin Bagley III, Duke, 37

Jerome Robinson, Boston College, 14

Luke Maye, North Carolina, 5

Devon Hall, Virginia, 1

Rookie of the Year

Marvin Bagley III, Duke, 56

De'Andre Hunter, Virginia, 1

Coach of the Year

Tony Bennett, Virginia, 47

Brad Brownell, Clemson, 8

Kevin Keatts, NC State, 2

Defensive Player of the Year

Isaiah Wilkins, Virginia, 42

Anas Mahmoud, Louisville, 7

Elijah Thomas, Clemson, 3

Devin Wilson, Virginia Tech, 2

Jack Salt, Virginia, 1

Rex Pflueger, Notre Dame, 1

Wendell Carter Jr., Duke, 1

Most Improved Player

Luke Maye, North Carolina, 26

Frank Howard, Syracuse, 5

Omer Yurtseven, NC State, 5

Martinas Geben, Notre Dame, 5

Doral Moore, Wake Forest, 5

Kyle Guy, Virginia, 3

Marcquise Reed, Clemson, 3

Phil Cofer, Florida State, 2

Dewan Huell, Miami, 2

Ty Jerome, Virginia, 1

Sixth Man of the Year

De'Andre Hunter, Virginia, 39

Chris Clarke, Virginia Tech, 7

Chris Lykes, Miami, 5

Keyshawn Woods, Wake Forest, 3

Trent Forrest, Florida State, 2

Marques Bolden, Duke, 1

*- Unanimous selection


Men's Basketball vs. Princeton Radio
Tue, Dec 18 at 5:00 PM
Men's Basketball vs. Texas Tech Radio
Thu, Dec 20 at 6:00 PM
Women's Basketball at Oregon State
Thu, Dec 20 at 9:45 PM
Independence Bowl: Duke vs. Temple
Thu, Dec 27 at 12:00 PM