stop
Stay Connected with Duke Athletics
Uploaded Ad
Uploaded Ad
article image
Courtesy: Duke Athletics
Eaton signs autographs after his practice round
Eaton Set for 2019 U.S. Open at Pebble Beach
Courtesy: Duke Sports Information
Release: 06/12/2019
BDN+ Premium Content
Related Links

PEBBLE BEACH, Calif. – Duke rising senior Chandler Eaton will compete in his first professional event when he tees it up at the 2019 United States Open at Pebble Beach on Thursday.

Of the 156 golfers vying for the United States Golf Association (USGA) national championship, Eaton is one of 16 amateurs in the field. The Alpharetta, Ga., native survived a playoff to advance through the U.S. Open Local Qualifier at the Duke University Golf Club, then shot 9-under 135 to advance though the Sectional Qualifier last week at Hawks Ridge outside Atlanta.

Eaton is off the No. 1 tee on Thursday at 2:31 p.m. PT (5:31 p.m. ET) and paired with pros Matthieu Pavon of France and Callum Tarren of England. In Friday’s second round, that threesome is off No. 10 at 8:46 a.m. PT (11:46 a.m. ET).

A two-time All-American and two-time All-ACC selection, Eaton qualified for both the U.S. Amateur and U.S. Junior Amateur in 2016. In 12 tournaments for Duke during the 2018-19 season, Eaton compiled a 70.71 stroke average with one victory, three top-5s and six top-10s. His victory came at the Nike Collegiate Invitational at Colonial Country Club in Fort Worth, Texas, and he was Duke’s leading finisher at the NCAA Championship with a t-15th for the second consecutive season.

His father, Scott, who will caddy for him this weekend, played golf at Texas-Arlington, and his mother, Kim, played golf for Iowa State.

Live TV coverage Thursday and Friday begins at 12:30 p.m. ET on FS1, and moves to FOX at 7:30 p.m. ET.

#GoDuke

DUKE NEWS ARCHIVES
DUKE VIDEOS
PHOTO GALLERIES MORE ALBUMS
WOMEN'S BASKETBALL HEADLINES