Uploaded Ad
article image
Courtesy: Duke Athletics
Duke Earns ABCA Team Academic Excellence Award
Courtesy: Duke Sports Information
Release: 09/27/2017
BDN+ Premium Content
Related Links

DURHAM, N.C. – The Duke baseball program was one of 40 NCAA Division I teams to garner the second annual American Baseball Coaches Association (ABCA) Team Academic Excellence Award.

Established in May 2016, the ABCA Team Academic Excellence Award honors programs that post a grade point average over 3.0 on a 4.0 scale. The ABCA recognized over 220 high school and college programs for the 2016-17 academic year.

Duke was one of two ACC teams to earn the 2017 honor, joining Louisville. In addition, the Blue Devil program was one of 19 NCAA DI programs to garner ABCA Team Academic recognition in both 2016 and 2017.

Six Blue Devils – pitcher Ryan Day, pitcher Nick Hendrix, outfielder Jimmy Herron, shortstop Zack Kone, pitcher Kevin Lewallyn and outfielder Michael Smiciklas – collected 2017 All-ACC Academic honors this past season, while 23 members of the Duke baseball team earned a spot on the 2017 ACC Academic Honor Roll, which recognizes all conference student-athletes with a GPA of 3.0 for the current academic year.

About the ABCA
The American Baseball Coaches Association has a long tradition of recognizing the achievements of baseball coaches and student-athletes. The ABCA/Rawlings All-America Teams are the nation's oldest, founded in 1949, and the ABCA's awards program also includes the ABCA/Rawlings All-Region Awards, the ABCA/Diamond Regional & National Coaches of the Year and several other major awards such as the ABCA Hall of Fame and the ABCA/Wilson Lefty Gomez Award.

2016-17 ABCA Team Academic Excellence Award Recipients (NCAA Division I)
Arkansas State University *
Ball State University *
Baylor University
Belmont University
Chicago State University *
College of William & Mary
Columbia University
Dallas Baptist University
Duke University *
East Carolina University *
Eastern Kentucky University *
Elon University *
Gardner-Webb University *
Harvard University
Hofstra University 
Illinois State University *
Kansas State University
Lafayette College *
Long Island University
McNeese State University
Mercer University
Michigan State University
Middle Tennessee State University *
Oregon State University
Sacramento State *
Saint Louis University 
Samford University 
St. John's University *
Tulane University 
University of Alabama-Birmingham *
University of Hartford 
University of Kansas
University of Louisville *
University of Memphis 
University of Minnesota
University of North Carolina-Greensboro *
University of North Carolina-Wilmington *
University of Portland *
University of Toledo *
Utah Valley University

* Denotes program that earned 2015-16 honor