Stay Connected with Duke Athletics
article image
Courtesy: Duke Sports Information
Duke's Senior Class
Blue Devils Commemorate 2017 Season at Team Banquet
Courtesy: Duke Sports Information
Release: 04/23/2018
BDN+ Premium Content
Related Links

DURHAM, N.C. – The Duke field hockey program celebrated the 2017 campaign and honored its senior class Sunday at the team’s annual awards banquet, held at the University Club.

The Blue Devils highlighted athletic and academic accomplishments from the course of the season. In addition, seniors Alyssa Chillano, Sarah Furey, Ainsley Gill, Ashley Kristen, Alexa Mackintire and Stephanie Pezzuti were recognized for their contributions to the program over the past four years.

Four Blue Devils were selected for team awards in recognition of their athletic excellence and leadership during the season.

Furey was named the Caitlin Williams Defensive Player of the Year for the second consecutive season. The Mt. Laurel, N.J., native helped anchor a veteran back line that ranked among the top 10 teams in the country in shutouts (7) and goals against average (1.28). She garnered second team All-South Region honors from the National Field Hockey Coaches Association and represented Duke in the NFHCA Division I Senior Game. Furey also served as the Blue Devils’ field captain during the 2017 campaign, guiding the squad to a 17-4 record and a trip to the NCAA quarterfinals.

The Caitlin Williams award is named after the 2008 Duke graduate who played in 50 career games for the Blue Devils, tallying 238 career saves and a 1.53 goals against average. With her impressive stat line, Williams (Dallmeyer) ranks fifth on Duke’s all-time list in goals against average, tied for seventh in career saves and 13th in career save percentage (.735).  A native of Greenland, N.H., Williams garnered second team All-America, first team All-ACC and back-to-back All-South Region honors during her time at Duke.

Mackintire received the Laura Suchoski Midfielder of the Year Award following an impressive senior campaign that saw her total three goals and three assists. Mackintire was selected for second team All-ACC accolades, earning all-conference recognition for the first time in her career. A native of Southborough, Mass., and a vice captain for the Blue Devils, she matched her career best with a three-point effort in a 5-0 shutout of Louisville. Mackintire was also integral to the team’s success on attack penalty corners this fall.

The Laura Suchoski Midfielder of the Year award is named after the four-time All-America selection, who tallied 86 appearances on the field during her time at Duke, registering 16 career goals and 30 career assists. A 2009 graduate, Suchoski (Tierney) was a three-time All-ACC selection and the first Blue Devil in program history to garner All-America honors during her freshman campaign.

Junior Rose Tynan was voted the Katie Grant Attack Player of the Year after a breakout season headlining Duke’s forward line. She tallied a career-high 39 points on 17 goals and five assists, recording four multiple-goal performances. A product of Auckland, New Zealand, Tynan led the Blue Devils with six game-winning goals and ranked third in the ACC in goals per game (0.81). She was a third team NFHCA All-America, first team All-South Region and second team All-ACC selection this fall.

The Katie Grant Attack Player of the Year award is named for the 2005 ACC Player of the Year, who tallied 83 career goals and 63 career assists and guided the Blue Devils to a 70-23 (.753) overall record during her career. A native of Lehighton, Pa., Grant etched her name into the Duke record books in a number of categories including career points (1st, 223), career goals (2nd, 80), career assists (T-1st, 63) and ranks fourth on the all-time ACC list for career points.

Taking home the final team award, the Stefanie Fee Duke True Award, was Pezzuti in recognition of her all-around leadership, work ethic and dedication to the program over the past four years. Pezzuti appeared in 64 career contests on defense, helping guide the squad to a four-year record of 60-22 and four NCAA quarterfinals appearances, as well as a trip to the national semifinals in 2015. The Fairfield, N.J., native was also a strong representative in the classroom, earning three selections to the NFHCA National Academic Squad and three to the ACC Academic Honor Roll, with the release of this year’s list still to come.

A 2012 graduate, Stefanie Fee was a four-time letterwinner and standout defender for the Blue Devils. She started each of the 81 games during her career, garnering Longstreth/NFHCA All-America, All-South Region first team, All-ACC and All-ACC Tournament accolades. During her senior campaign, Fee anchored a defensive unit which ranked second in the ACC and eighth nationally in goals against average (1.2). Since graduating, she has gone on to excel as a member of the U.S. national team.

The Blue Devils wrapped up the 2017 campaign at No. 2 in the final Penn Monto/NFHCA Division I Coaches Poll. Under the direction of head coach Pam Bustin and the coaching staff, the squad finished the year with 17 victories for the second time in the past five seasons.

2017 Team Awards
Caitlin Williams Defensive Player of the Year: Sarah Furey
Laura Suchoski Midfielder of the Year: Alexa Mackintire
Katie Grant Attack Player of the Year: Rose Tynan
Stefanie Fee Duke True Award: Stephanie Pezzuti




Men's Basketball vs. Pittsburgh Radio
Tue, Jan 22 at 8:00 PM
Men's Basketball vs. Georgia Tech
Sat, Jan 26 at 11:00 AM
Men's Basketball vs. Notre Dame Radio
Mon, Jan 28 at 6:00 PM
Men's Basketball vs. St. John's Radio
Sat, Feb 2 at 11:00 AM