Stay Connected with Duke Athletics
Uploaded Ad
Uploaded Ad
article image
Courtesy: Duke Athletics
Six Blue Devils Selected for All-Region Honors
Courtesy: Duke Sports Information
Release: 11/26/2018
BDN+ Premium Content
Related Links

DURHAM, N.C. – The National Field Hockey Coaches Association released its 2018 All-Region teams Monday, with six Blue Devils earning All-South Region recognition.

Junior midfielder Margaux Paolino, redshirt junior goalkeeper Sammi Steele and senior forward Rose Tynan were all named to the All-South Region first team while senior forward Caroline Andretta, senior forward Erin Scherrer and junior back Jillian Wolgemuth garnered second team honors.

Duke’s six selections across the two teams marked the most in the South Region. Under the guidance of head coach Pam Bustin and her coaching staff, the Blue Devils have boasted five or more all-region picks in seven of the last eight seasons.

A first team All-South Region pick for the third consecutive season, Paolino tied for first on the team and seventh in the conference with nine assists in 22 contests this fall. Her performance as a junior helped her move into the top five on Duke’s career assists chart with 33. The Villanova, Pa., native is also tied for 11th in career assists among all active Division I players. Paolino added six goals for a career-best 21 points in her junior campaign and once again served as the squad’s primary inserter on attack penalty corners. This season she was also named to the All-ACC First Team and the ACC All-Tournament Team.

Steele joined Paolino in receiving first team all-region recognition for the third straight year, in addition to earning second team All-ACC accolades. The goalkeeper from Eagleville, Pa., anchored a defensive unit that compiled a 1.47 goals against average and notched eight shutouts. Steele recorded six saves on three occasions this fall and surpassed the 200-save mark for her career. She wrapped up the season ranked third in the conference and 16th nationally in goals against average (1.46).

Tynan was selected for first team all-region honors for a second consecutive season after once again leading the Blue Devils’ attack with 36 points. She rounded out her senior campaign with 14 goals and eight assists and ranked among the conference leaders in both categories. Tynan reached the 100-point mark for her career in the quarterfinals of the ACC Championship. A native of Auckland, New Zealand, she wrapped up an impressive collegiate career tied for ninth in program history in career goals (43) and tied for 10th in career points (101).

An integral member of Duke’s front line over the past four seasons, Andretta was a first-time selection to the All-South Region teams. She started 21 of 22 contests, tying with Tynan for first on the team in goals (14) and ranking second in points (32). A product of New Vernon, N.J., Andretta notched multiple tallies in three contests this fall, including in the semifinals of the ACC Championship. She was named to the ACC All-Tournament Team before concluding her Duke career ranked among the all-time program leaders with 55 career points.

Scherrer capped a standout senior season with the first all-region accolades of her career. She ranked fourth on the squad in goals (8) and fifth in points, recording a career high with 19 on the fall. The Chesapeake, Va., native posted the first hat trick of her career Sept. 14 in a 6-3 victory over No. 14 Saint Joseph’s. Her seven points in that contest marked the most by a Blue Devil since Heather Morris registered eight against James Madison Sept. 11, 2016.

A three-year starter on the back line, Wolgemuth collected the first all-region honor of her career after also earning a spot on the All-ACC second team this fall. She was crucial to the Blue Devils’ defensive success and was one of the squad’s key personnel on attack penalty corners. A product of Mount Joy, Pa., Wolgemuth wrapped up the season with two goals and four assists and helped Duke finish the year at 16-6 with eight shutouts.

The Longstreth/NFHCA Division I Players of the Year will be announced Thursday, followed by the All-America teams Dec. 4 and the National Player of the Year Dec. 10.