Stay Connected with Duke Athletics
Uploaded Ad
Uploaded Ad
article image
Courtesy: Duke Athletics
Caroline Andretta and Morgan Bitting
Fourteen Blue Devils Named to National Academic Squad
Courtesy: Duke Sports Information
Release: 03/18/2019
BDN+ Premium Content
Related Links

DURHAM, N.C. – The Duke field hockey program featured 14 student-athletes on the 2018 Zag Field Hockey/NFHCA Division I National Academic Squad, as announced Monday by the National Field Hockey Coaches Association. The 14 National Academic Squad selections mark the most for the program since 2015.

The Division I National Academic Squad program honors student-athletes who have achieved a cumulative grade-point average of 3.3 or higher through the first semester of the 2018-19 academic year. This year, 940 student-athletes from 76 Division I institutions received the academic accolade.

Seniors Caroline Andretta and Morgan Bitting and redshirt junior Sammi Steele all earned the National Academic Squad honor for the fourth time in their careers. Juniors Christy Palazzese and Jillian Wolgemuth were recognized for the third time in as many seasons while sophomore Lydia Smeltz was a second-time selection. Graduate student Tessa Gote, senior Rose Tynan, sophomore Lily Posternak and freshmen Leah Crouse, Caroline Hanan, Grace Kim, Kiki Rozemeijer and Olivia Sahaydak were all named to the National Academic Squad for the first time.

The National Academic Squad announcement came a week after head coach Pam Bustin’s squad received a 2018 Zag Field Hockey/NFHCA National Academic Team Award.

The Zag Field Hockey/NFHCA Scholars of Distinction will be announced on March 25 and the Zag Field Hockey/NFHCA National Scholar-Athlete on April 1.