Stay Connected with Duke Athletics
Uploaded Ad
Uploaded Ad
Uploaded Ad
article image
Courtesy: Duke Athletics
Field Hockey Celebrates 2018 Season at Awards Banquet
Courtesy: Duke Sports Information
Release: 04/15/2019
BDN+ Premium Content
Related Links

DURHAM, N.C. – The Duke field hockey program celebrated the successes of the 2018 campaign Saturday evening at the program’s annual awards banquet.

The Blue Devil coaching staff and student-athletes recognized athletic and academic accomplishments from the course of the season and honored the team’s six seniors – Caroline Andretta, Morgan Bitting, Tessa Gote, Christy Palazzese, Erin Scherrer and Rose Tynan.

Several Blue Devils were selected for the program’s annual awards.

Junior back Jillian Wolgemuth received the Caitlin Williams Defensive Player of the Year award after rounding out the season as a second team All-ACC and National Field Hockey Coaches Association All-South Region selection. She helped anchor a backfield that recorded eight shutouts during the fall. Wolgemuth also notched two goals and four assists as a member of the Blue Devils’ attack penalty corner unit, scoring the game-winning tally on a penalty corner opportunity against No. 5 Penn State.

The Caitlin Williams award is named after the 2008 Duke graduate who played in 50 career games for the Blue Devils, tallying 238 career saves and a 1.53 goals against average. With her impressive stat line, Williams (Dallmeyer) ranks fifth on Duke’s all-time list in goals against average, tied for seventh in career saves and 13th in career save percentage (.735).  A native of Greenland, N.H., Williams garnered second team All-America, first team All-ACC and back-to-back All-South Region honors during her time at Duke.

The Laura Suchoski Midfielder of the Year Award went to junior Margaux Paolino, who represents the Duke program on the U.S. senior women’s national team. Paolino enjoyed another outstanding collegiate season in 2018, capped by first team All-America honors. She tied for first on the squad and seventh in the ACC with nine assists in 22 contests and added six goals during the fall for a career-best 21 points. Paolino once again served as the team’s primary inserter on attack penalty corners and was also a first team All-ACC and All-South Region pick in the midfield.

The Laura Suchoski Midfielder of the Year award is named after the four-time All-America selection, who tallied 86 appearances on the field during her time at Duke, registering 16 career goals and 30 career assists. A 2009 graduate, Suchoski (Tierney) was a three-time All-ACC selection and the first Blue Devil in program history to garner All-America honors during her freshman campaign.

Tynan took home the Katie Grant Attack Player of the Year Award for the second consecutive season following another fall as Duke’s leading scorer. She totaled 14 goals and eight assists during her senior campaign to solidify her place among the national and conference leaders in goals and points. Tynan also paced the Blue Devils with a team-best four game-winning goals and three-multiple goal outings en route to earning second team All-America and first team All-ACC and All-South Region recognition. She wrapped up her career by representing the program in the NFHCA Division I Senior Game.

The Katie Grant Attack Player of the Year award is named for the 2005 ACC Player of the Year, who tallied 83 career goals and 63 career assists and guided the Blue Devils to a 70-23 (.753) overall record during her career. A native of Lehighton, Pa., Grant etched her name into the Duke record books in a number of categories including career points (1st, 223), career goals (2nd, 80), career assists (T-1st, 63) and ranks fourth on the all-time ACC list for career points.

Bitting was named the recipient of the Stef Fee Duke True Award in recognition of her all-around leadership, work ethic and dedication to the program over the past four years. Integral to the Blue Devils’ success in the midfield, Bitting was a three-year starter, totaling two goals and 11 assists in 84 career contests. As a senior, she was selected the team’s field captain and represented the program in the NFHCA Division I Senior Game. She also served as a leader off the field, twice earning NFHCA Scholar of Distinction recognition in addition to earning a spot on the NFHCA National Academic Squad in all four years.

A 2012 graduate, Stefanie Fee was a four-time letterwinner and standout defender for the Blue Devils. She started each of the 81 games during her career, garnering Longstreth/NFHCA All-America, All-South Region first team, All-ACC and All-ACC Tournament accolades. During her senior campaign, Fee anchored a defensive unit which ranked second in the ACC and eighth nationally in goals against average (1.2). Since graduating, she has gone on to excel as a member of the U.S. national team.

Duke’s senior class led the Blue Devils to their 17th NCAA Tournament appearance in 2018, helping the squad reach the quarterfinal round. Duke rounded out the season at 16-6 and ranked third in the final Penn Monto/NFHCA Division I Coaches Poll.

2018 Team Awards
Caitlin Williams Defensive Player of the Year: Jillian Wolgemuth
Laura Suchoski Midfielder of the Year: Margaux Paolino
Katie Grant Attack Player of the Year: Rose Tynan
Stefanie Fee Duke True Award: Morgan Bitting