Stay Connected with Duke Athletics
Uploaded Ad
Uploaded Ad
Uploaded Ad
article image
Courtesy: Duke Athletics
Robin Blazing
Blazing Leads 11 Blue Devils on NFHCA Academic List
Courtesy: Duke Sports Information
Release: 03/15/2017
BDN+ Premium Content
Related Links

DURHAM, N.C. – Eleven members of the Duke field hockey team have been selected to the 2016 Zag Field Hockey/NFHCA Division I National Academic Squad, led by Scholar of Distinction Robin Blazing, as announced by the National Field Hockey Coaches Association Wednesday.

The Zag Field Hockey/NFHCA Division I National Academic Squad includes all student-athletes with a cumulative grade-point average of 3.30 or greater through the first semester of the 2016-17 academic year. The Scholars of Distinction list includes those student-athletes who have achieved a cumulative GPA of 3.90 or greater through the first semester of the 2016-17 academic year.

A senior midfielder majoring in biology and Spanish, Blazing garnered NFHCA Scholar of Distinction laurels for the third time in her career. She is a three-year member of the ACC Academic Honor Roll and a two-time All-ACC Academic Team selection. Earlier this spring, Blazing was chosen for an ACC Postgraduate Scholarship, receiving the Weaver-James-Corrigan Award.

In total, 926 student-athletes representing 79 institutions were recognized on the 2016 Division I National Academic Squad.

Blazing, Heather Morris and Savannah Story were three of 139 seniors nationwide to be named to the National Academic Squad in each of their four seasons.

Junior Sarah Furey received her third selection while juniors Alexa Mackintire and Stephanie Pezzuti and sophomores Caroline Andretta, Morgan Bitting and Sammi Steele were tabbed to the National Academic Squad for the second straight year. Sophomore Christy Palazzese and freshman Jillian Wolgemuth were among the first-time recipients of the accolade.

The National Academic Squad and Scholar of Distinction announcements came a week after the Duke squad earned a 2016 Zag Field Hockey/NFHCA National Academic Team Award. This spring the Blue Devils also paced the ACC with seven selections to the All-ACC Academic Team.