Uploaded Ad
article image
Courtesy: Duke Athletics
Rowing Heads to ACC Championship
Courtesy: Duke Sports Information
Release: 05/13/2017
BDN+ Premium Content
Related Links

DURHAM, N.C. - The Duke rowing team will make its final push to the NCAA Championship on Sunday at the ACC Championship on Lake Hartwell in Clemson, S.C. This is the 18th annual league championship event, and the third featuring nine squads.

The Blue Devils will hold the No. 1 seed for the 2V4 while they are the No. 2 seed in the 2V8, No. 3 seed in the V4, No. 4 seed for the V8 and No. 5 seed in the 3V8.

Virginia, ranked 11th nationally in the latest Collegiate Rowing Coaches Association (CRCA) national poll, earned the top seed in three of the five events, including the 2V8, 3V8 and V4. The Cavaliers were the only team to earn either a No. 1 or No. 2 seed in all five events.

UVA won 16 of the first 17 ACC Rowing titles, including the last seven at Lake Hartwell. Clemson is the only other ACC team to win an ACC Rowing title, having won in 2009 when the event was held at Melton Lake in Oak Ridge, Tenn.

Duke is ranked 17th in the CRCA poll. Syracuse and Duke finished tied for second place in last year's championship. The Blue Devils have undergone a rowing renaissance under head coach Megan Cooke Carcagno and have been nationally ranked for 13 consecutive weeks dating back to the 2015-16 season. Duke earned the school's first NCAA Championship invitation last year.

The 2017 ACC Rowing Championship preliminaries and finals will be available live on ACC Network Extra.

Duke Lineup
V8 – Meagan Lew, Sarah Fletcher, Shannon TierneyIsabel Ruby-HillSophie Simister, Kiernan Spencer, Abby ArtmannKatherine Maitland and Elizabeth Horne
2V8 – Karly Pearson, Phoebe Donovan, Lelia Boley, Rhea BergmanJessica Findlay, Taji Phillips, Olivia Mendonca, Tara Christensen and Celia Macrae 
3V8 – Katherine Bandeen, Anna JenkinsAlexa Campbell, Grace GarverickSara Varsames, Barbara Groh, Kiamya Philson, Cassie Ingram and Rani Duff
V4 – Tara Fagan, Danielle Lodge ,Karley Whelan, Marissa Donadio and Caroline Willis
2V4 – Jiahui Liao, Tani O'Neill, Julia Weber, Madison Brown and Bella Miller

ACC Rowing Championship Schedule
Time Event
6:05-8:55 a.m. Coxswain Weigh In (Boat Bay)
8:05 a.m. First Varsity Eight (Heat 1)
8:15 a.m. First Varsity Eight (Heat 2)
8:30 a.m. Second Varsity Eight (Heat 1)
8:40 a.m. Second Varsity Eight (Heat 2)
8:55 a.m. First Varsity Four (Heat 1)
9:05 a.m. First Varsity Four (Heat 2)
9:20 a.m. Second Varsity Four (Heat 1)
9:30 a.m. Second Varsity Four (Heat 2)
9:45 a.m. Third Varsity Eight (Heat 1)
9:55 a.m. Third Varsity Eight (Heat 2)

Time Event
3:35-6:25 p.m. Coxswain Weigh In (Boat Bay)
5:35 p.m. Third Varsity Eight (Petite Final)
5:45 p.m. Third Varsity Eight (Grand Final)
6:00 p.m. Second Varsity Four (Petite Final)
6:10 p.m. Second Varsity Four (Grand Final)
6:25 p.m. First Varsity Four (Petite Final)
6:35 p.m. First Varsity Four (Grand Final)
6:50 p.m. Second Varsity Eight (Petite Final)
7:00 p.m. Second Varsity Eight (Grand Final)
7:15 p.m. First Varsity Eight (Petite Final)
7:25 p.m. First Varsity Eight (Grand Final)

8:00 p.m. Awards Ceremony