Stay Connected with Duke Athletics
Uploaded Ad
Uploaded Ad
Uploaded Ad
article image
Courtesy: Duke Athletics
Duke Features 23 on CSCAA Scholar All-America Team
Courtesy: Duke Sports Information
Release: 07/03/2019
BDN+ Premium Content
Related Links

DURHAM, N.C. – The Duke swimming and diving programs featured 23 student-athletes on the 2018-19 College Swimming & Diving Coaches Association of America (CSCAA) Scholar All-America Team, as announced by the organization Tuesday. The 23 Scholar All-America selections mark the most in program history.

To be selected to the CSCAA Scholar All-America Team, swimmers and divers must have achieved a grade point average of 3.50 or higher and achieved a ‘B’ time standard or competed at the NCAA Championships or Zone Diving qualifier.

Recent Duke graduates Hunter Aitchison, Lizzie Fitzpatrick, Maddie Hess and Mackenzie Willborn represented the women’s squad on the first team, along with rising seniors Jaina Gaudette and Alyssa Marsh, rising junior Halle Morris and rising sophomore Cabell Ann Whitlow. The group concluded the 2018-19 campaign at the NCAA Championships, earning the second-highest finish in women’s program history in 23rd place.

Aitchison, a 2019 Google Cloud CoSIDA Academic All-American, was recognized on the CSCAA Scholar All-America first team for the third consecutive season while Hess received first team laurels for the second time.

Recent graduate Max St. George earned Scholar All-America First Team honors for the Blue Devil men, along with rising seniors Nathaniel Hernandez and Miles Williams. Hernandez, who garnered first team recognition for the second straight season, also captured first team All-America accolades in one-meter diving to cap the season.

Twelve other student-athletes received Scholar All-America honorable mention honors from the CSCAA for the 2018-19 campaign, including Harel Anolick, Sheldon Boboff, Nathaniel Hartley, Judd Howard, Easop Lee, Yusuke Legard, Josh Owsiany, Carly Perri, Maddy Pfaff, Sean Tate, Ellie Winslow and Adam Zimmer.

Aitchison, Hernandez, Hess, Howard, Marsh, Morris, St. George and Willborn also garnered All-ACC Academic accolades for the 2018-19 season.  

Last week, the CSCAA named the Duke men’s and women’s squads to its Scholar All-America team for the spring 2019 semester.

2018-19 CSCAA Scholar All-America Team – Duke
Name, Year, Major (First Team/Honorable Mention)
Hunter Aitchison, Sr., Neuroscience (First Team)
Harel Anolick, Fr., Undeclared (HM)
Sheldon Boboff, Jr., Economics (HM)
Lizzie Fitzpatrick, Sr., Psychology (First Team)
Jaina Gaudette, Jr., Mechanical Engineering (First Team)
Nathaniel Hartley, So., Computer Science (HM)
Nathaniel Hernandez, Jr., Biology (First Team)
Maddie Hess, Sr., Psychology (First Team)
Judd Howard, Sr., Economics (HM)
Easop Lee, Fr., Undeclared (HM)
Yusuke Legard, Sr., Economics (HM)
Alyssa Marsh, Jr., Political Science (First Team)
Halle Morris, So., Sociology (First Team)
Josh Owsiany, Sr., Electrical & Computer Engineering (HM)
Carly Perri, So., International Comparative Studies & Cultural Anthropology (HM)
Maddy Pfaff, Fr., Undeclared (HM)
Max St. George, Sr., Economics (First Team)
Sean Tate, Sr., Cultural Anthropology (HM)
Cabell Ann Whitlow, Fr., Undeclared (First Team)
Mackenzie Willborn, Sr., Biomedical Engineering (First Team)
Miles Williams, Jr., Political Science (First Team)
Ellie Winslow, So., Public Policy (HM)
Adam Zimmer, So., Psychology (HM)