Uploaded Ad
article image
Courtesy: Duke Athletics
Beguinet, Di Tella Earn ACC Annual Awards
Courtesy: Duke Sports Information
Release: 03/20/2017
BDN+ Premium Content
Related Links

DURHAM, N.C. – Head coach Alex Beguinet and junior Pascual Di Tella were among the recipients of the Atlantic Coast Conference’s individual awards following the 2017 season, as announced by the conference office.

Beguinet received Men’s Coach of the Year accolades and Di Tella was named Men’s Fencer of the Year for Saber. Last season, Beguinet garnered Co-Coach of the Year for both the men and women while Di Tella was Co-Men’s Fencer of the Year for Saber.

Beguinet, who just wrapped up his 32nd season at Duke, guided both the men and women to second-place showings in the team standings for the third consecutive season at the conference meet. The individual competition was highlighted by Di Tella’s gold medal in men’s saber, while sophomore Bryn Hammarberg and freshmen Agoston Walter and Eoin Gronningsater each earned bronze in their respective weapons. On the women’s side, senior Rita Somogyi and freshman Lindsay Sapienza placed second in women’s epee and women’s saber, respectively.

Di Tella became the first Blue Devil male to win an ACC title since fencing returned as a league sponsored sport three years ago. The Buenos Aires, Argentina, native has helped pace a successful men’s saber squad with a 40-8 ledger and notched a fourth-place finish at the NCAA Mid-Atlantic/South Regional.

Di Tella, alongside six additional Blue Devils, will compete at the NCAA Championships March 23-26 in Indianapolis, Ind.

A complete list of the ACC award winners can be found below:

2016-17 ACC Fencing Awards:

Men’s Fencer of the Year for Épée:  Ariel Simmons, Notre Dame

Women’s Fencer of the Year for Épée: Reneé Bichette, Boston College

Men’s Fencer of the Year for Foil: Axel Kiefer, Notre Dame

Women’s Fencer of the Year for Foil: Lee Kiefer, Notre Dame

Men’s Fencers of the Year for Sabre: Pascual Di Tella, Duke

Women’s Fencer of the Year for Sabre: Francesca Russo, Notre Dame

Men’s Coach of the Year: Alex Beguinet, Duke

Women’s Coach of the Year: Gia Kvaratskhelia, Notre Dame