Stay Connected with Duke Athletics
Uploaded Ad
Uploaded Ad
Duke Men's Golf Home Tournament History
Courtesy: Duke Sports Information
Release: 09/30/2010
BDN+ Premium Content
Related Links

DURHAM, N.C. -- For the past 44 years, Duke has hosted an intercollegiate men’s golf tournament featuring some of the most talented teams and players in the country.  The Blue Devils have won a home event at the Duke University Golf Club 12 times (1978, 1979, 1999, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2008, 2011, 2012, 2015), including the inaugural Blue Devil Spring Shootout in 2015.  
For the first 17 years, from 1974 to 1990, the tournament was a spring event known as the Iron Duke Classic. The Blue Devils posted wins in the event in 1978 and 1979.
From 1982 to 1995, Duke hosted the John H. Ryan Memorial in the fall. This event was held in the memory of John H. Ryan, Jr., a Duke student in the class of 1984 and member of the golf team, who died in a summer boating accident prior to his junior year. He was selected by Golf Magazine to the 1979 All-American Junior Golf Team.  A highly valued member of the Duke golf team and a two-year letterman, John was a young man who exemplified sportsmanship, talent and a genuine love for his fellow students and teammates. He was a gentle person with a strong sense of responsibility, an unassuming presence and a quiet determination. He will always be remembered for the honorable qualities that he exhibited during his lifetime. Duke won the event in 1988 and 1994.
The university hosted both the Iron Duke Classic and John H. Ryan Memorial until the 1989-90 season. In 1990-91, the two events combined to form the John Ryan Iron Duke Classic. The Classic was held each spring for the next four years.
The fall event became the Duke Golf Classic in 1994 and Duke claimed the team title five times (1999, 2004, 2005, 2006 and 2007). In 2008, Duke hosted the first Coca-Cola Individual Collegiate. The event featured 63 individuals from around the country. In 2009, the Blue Devils hosted the Duke Gordin Invitational. The event featured a Division III team competition, as well as 40 Division I individuals from around the country.
The Blue Devils hosted the inaugural Rod Myers Invitational in October of 2010. Duke’s home fall tournament was renamed in honor of legendary Duke men’s golf coach Rod Myers, who passed away on March 30, 2007, after a battle with an acute form of leukemia. The Blue Devils have won the Rod Myers Invitational twice (2011 and 2012).

Blue Devil Tournament Wins at Duke University Golf Course
Year - Tournament Name
1978 - Iron Duke Classic
1979 - Duke Fall Invitational
1988 - John Ryan Iron Duke Spring Classic
1994 - John Ryan Iron Duke Spring Classic
1998 - Duke Golf Classic
2003 - Coca-Cola Duke Classic
2004 - Coca-Cola Duke Classic
2005 - Coca-Cola Duke Classic
2007 - Coca-Cola Duke Classic
2011 - Rod Myers Invitational
2012 - Rod Myers Invitational
2015 - Blue Devil Spring Shootout

Individual Tournament Wins at Duke University Golf Course
Year - Tournament Name - Player
1978 - Iron Duke Classic - Bob Stanger
1981 - Duke Invitational - Tim Mittlehauser
1983 - John Ryan Memorial - Chuck Taylor
1989 - John Ryan Memorial - John Karcher
2011 - Rod Myers Invitational - Julian Suri
2012 - Rod Myers Invitational - Julian Suri <
2015 - Blue Devil Spring Shootout - Motin Yeung

< denotes co-champion